SOVEREIGNTY

December 6, 2012

 

In December 2012, SBC launched its new initiative of long-term, research-based programming that focuses on pertinent cultural, social and political issues. Over the first 2 years of the new program the topic of study is sovereignty, with questions around the sovereign subject at the heart of the research. Approaching the topic from a wide range of cultural, academic, institutional, geo-political and judicial perspectives, we are looking at practices that address current and historical civic challenges to systems of governance; at questions of sovereignty from a global perspective – addressing questions pertinent across Canada and elsewhere - and more generally the 2012-2014 program brings together artists and other interdisciplinary practitioners from around the globe whose interests lie in worrying the fault lines of seemingly entrenched parameters of political life. The program includes exhibitions, workshops, screenings, conferences, publications and events for sustained discussion around the subject. It hopes to explore the possibilities for socially engaged art's operation outside of common political constraints and what that might mean.

 

For this first focus research program on sovereignty, SBC offers the platform to a number of artists and other thinkers, inviting them to put forward analysis, pose questions, articulate possibilities for creative action and to re-assess the complexities of present-day political paradigms. Among other topics, the program addresses pressing concerns about the recent wave of alternative strategies for attaining change in urban centres like Cairo, New York, Montréal, Mexico City and the ongoing struggles in the Middle East, in Latin America and elsewhere in the world. Research takes into account the widespread uncertainty about the efficacy of established strategies for governance, the reliability of the media and the changes in accountability in all political forums – ‘democratic’ and other – with the impact of the new social-media ‘witness’.

 

While artists have always created work that reflects the conditions of the world around them, today politics and an inherently interdisciplinary approach lie at the heart of the most important international cultural production. SBC aims to provide a forum in which to explore strategies of political action that have been generated by cultural, youth, labour, immigrant, feminist and other political movements both historically – often under the banner of decolonization or emancipation – and today. In its commitment to foster and represent creative contemporary cultural practices, in 2012-2014 SBC invites local and international artists, filmmakers, art historians, activists, sociologists, architects, political analysts, human rights practitioners and theorists and law specialists, among others, to contribute to the debate. 

 

 

The 2012-2014 project proposes a far-ranging inquiry into questions around the sovereign subject in light of accepted notions of citizenry and of orthodox state/subject power relations. SBC will work closely with artists and others whose practices relate to the geo-political and juridical construct of the sovereign - a paradoxical notion at best - as it is employed globally. According to the UNHCR there are over 10 million refugees and over 12 million displaced or stateless persons in the world. What impact does this necessarily have on accepted notions of sovereignty? What legal role do these non-citizens play? Can the new territorial occupation of the non-citizens of the world offer anything like the basis for a constructive way of thinking political action and conceptualization of pertinence, or rather, ‘pertaining to’ a place or language or community? What are the rights of the non-citizen when the discourse of human rights is hinged on birthplace and nationality? What is the role of the International court in relation to the human rights of non-citizens? How does the legal panorama need to change? In what ways are governing bodies’ policies constrained by linguistic, geographical and juridical limits or frames?

 

The topic of sovereignty will be addressed through clustered and overlapping research in the areas of language, territory, governance, representation, the institution and the law. The sovereign self lies at the heart of the research. The exhibitions, workshops, talks, screenings and other events organized by SBC – and in collaboration with other venues and spaces throughout the city, across Canada and internationally – will seek to foster engaged publics and to provide opportunities for sustained intensive discussion around subjects which are enormously pressing in the world we occupy.

 

Pip Day, Director/Curator

TALK SHOW

February 28, 2015 to April 25, 2015
Curator: el instituto

EXHIBITIONS

119 M ABOVE SEA LEVEL

CRUM

Curator: Pip Day

December 6, 2014 - February 14, 2015

I OF WHOM I KNOW NOTHING

Pablo Sigg

Curator: Pip Day

November 25 - November 29, 2014

"MY"

GOLDIN + SENNEBY

Participants: Jo Randerson (playwright), Paul Leong (investment banker), Ybodon (computer scientist), Anna Heymowska (set designer), Johan Hjerpe (graphic designer) and Gerard Harris (actor)

Collaboration: La Biennale de Montréal, BNLMTL 2014, The future (looking forward)

September 27 - November 22, 2014

LOST ILLUSIONS

Sarah pierce

Participant: Thomas Dalbec

Curator: Pip Day

May 10 - June 28, 2014

A PROBLEM SO BIG IT NEEDS OTHER PEOPLE

Basil AlZeri, Daina Ashbee, Maggie Groat, Susan Hiller, Maria Hupfield, Tiziana La Melia, Tanya Lukin Linklater, Annie MacDonell, Gabrielle Moser and Chelsea Vowel

Curator: cheyanne turions

March 15 - May 3, 2014

STAGE SET STAGE

Participants: Pablo de Ocampo, Andrea Geyer, Sharon Hayes, Maria Hupfield, Adam Kinner & Jacob Wren, Dorit Margreiter, Jeanne Randolph, Monique Régimbald-Zeiber, Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre, cheyanne turions

Curator: Barbara Clausen

November 30, 2013 - February 22, 2014

TREVOR PAGLEN

Trevor Paglen

Curator: Paul Wombell

13th Month of Photography in Montreal

September 7 to November 9, 2013

DÉBARCADÈRES / LANDINGS

Dustin Wilson, Zacharias Kunuk, Peter Pitseolak / Joanasie Salamonie

Curator: Sarah Watson

May 23 - July 6, 2013

THE IMAGE FACTORY

Harun Farocki, Hito Steyerl

Curator: Pip Day

February 28-May 11, 2013

FAULT LINES / LIGNES DE FAILLE

Yael Bartana, Bertolt Brecht, François Bucher, Sophie Castonguay, Angela Melitopoulos & Maurizio Lazzarato

Curator: Pip Day

December 6, 2012 - February 16, 2013

SOUVERAINETÉ

6 décembre 2012

 

En décembre 2012, SBC a inauguré sa toute nouvelle initiative, une programmation à long terme orientée vers la recherche autour de problématiques culturelles, sociales et politiques pertinentes. Le premier de ces programmes, étendu sur une période allant de 18 mois à deux ans, fait du questionnement de l’idée de soi souverain le cœur de sa recherche abordant le thème de la souveraineté. Afin d’explorer cet enjeu à partir d’un large éventail de perspectives, culturelles, théoriques, institutionnelles, géopolitiques et judiciaires, la programmation met en lumière des pratiques qui traitent tout autant de la manière dont les citoyens ont interrogé les systèmes de gouvernance d’aujourd’hui et d’hier que des enjeux touchant la souveraineté sous un angle global – abordant des sujets pertinents au Canada et ailleurs. Plus généralement, le programme 2012-2014 provoque la rencontre d’artistes et autres praticiens interdisciplinaires de partout à travers le monde, qui s’intéressent aux lignes de failles fragilisant les paramètres supposés incontestables de la vie politique. Le programme 2012-2014 comprend des expositions, des ateliers, des projections, des conférences, des publications et des évènements qui maintiendront les échanges autour de ce sujet. Il souhaite à la fois explorer les possibilités offertes par un art socialement engagé opérant à l’extérieur des contraintes politiques habituelles et la valeur potentielle de ces possibilités.

 

Pour cette première période de recherche axée sur la souveraineté, SBC propose sa plateforme à un certain nombre de créateurs et autres penseurs : la galerie les invite à présenter une analyse, poser des questions, articuler des possibilités d’action créative et réévaluer la complexité des paradigmes politiques actuels. Parmi d’autres sujets, le programme aborde les enjeux pressants liés à la récente vague de stratégies alternatives adoptées pour appeler le changement dans des centres urbains comme le Caire, New York, Montréal ou Mexico, et les luttes qui se poursuivent au Moyen-Orient, en Amérique latine et ailleurs dans le monde. La recherche prend en compte le climat d’incertitude grandissante qui se développe, questionnant l’efficacité des stratégies de gouvernance établies, la fiabilité des médias et les changements qui touchent à l’imputabilité dans tous les forums politiques – « démocratiques » et autres –, tous des enjeux sur lesquels les nouveaux médias sociaux, agissant comme « témoins », ont un impact.

 

Bien que les artistes aient toujours produit des œuvres reflétant les conditions du monde où ils vivent, aujourd’hui plus que jamais la dimension politique et l’approche interdisciplinaire qui lui est inhérente agit au cœur des plus importantes productions culturelles internationales. SBC souhaite agir en tant que forum pour l’exploration des stratégies d’action politique ou culturelle générées par des jeunes, des travailleurs, des immigrants, des féministes et d’autres mouvements politiques, à la fois historiquement – souvent sous la bannière de la décolonisation ou de l’émancipation – et aujourd’hui. Dans sa volonté de susciter et de représenter des pratiques culturelles contemporaines, en 2012-2014 SBC invitera entre autres un ensemble d’artistes, réalisateurs, histo-riens de l’art, activistes, sociologues, architectes, analystes politiques, théoriciens ou intervenants en droits de l’homme, et spécialistes du droit, tant locaux qu’internationaux, à contribuer au débat.​​ 

 

Le projet 2012-2014 propose une large enquête sur les enjeux entourant le concept de soi souverain, prenant en considération la notion traditionnelle de citoyenneté et les relations de pouvoir orthodoxes entre État et sujet. SBC travaillera en étroite association avec des artistes et d’autres participants dont la pratique examine le concept géopolitique et juridique du souverain – une construction incontestablement paradoxale – tel qu’il est employé à travers le monde.

 

Selon l’UNHRC, on compte actuellement plus de 10 millions de réfugiés et plus de 12 millions de personnes déplacées ou apatrides. Quel est l’impact inévitable de cet état de fait sur les notions traditionnelles liées à la souveraineté ? Quelle est la position légale de ces non-citoyens ? Quel rôle légal ces non-citoyens peuvent-ils jouer ? La nouvelle forme d’occupation territoriale propre à ces non-citoyens peut-elle, à tout le moins, fournir les bases d’une façon constructive d’appréhender l’action politique et de conceptualiser l’idée d’« appartenance » à un lieu, à un langage ou à une communauté ? Quels sont les droits du non-citoyen lorsque le discours sur les droits de l’homme est basé sur le lieu de naissance et la nationalité ? Quel est le rôle de la Cour internationale de justice en termes de droits de l’homme par rapport aux non-citoyens ? Comment le paysage juridique doit-il évoluer ? Dans quelle mesure les politiques des institutions gouvernantes sont-elles contraintes par les cadres linguistiques, géographiques et juridiques et leurs limites ?

 

Le thème de la souveraineté sera abordé à travers des recherches qui se regroupent – et se recoupent – autour des sphères du langage, du territoire, de la gouvernance, de la représentation, de l’institution et de la loi. La question du soi souverain s’inscrit au cœur de ces explorations. Les expositions, ateliers, conférences, projections et autres évènements organisés par SBC – et en collaboration avec d’autres espaces à Montréal, au Canada et à l’étranger – viseront à encourager l’implication des publics, et à fournir des occasions multiples pour approfondir une réflexion sur des sujets qui sont dramatiquement d’actualité dans le monde que nous occupons.

 

Pip Day, Directrice/Commissaire

TALK SHOW 

28 février 2015 au 25 avril 2015
Commissaire : el instituto

EXPOSITIONS

119 M AU-DESSUS DU NIVEAU DE LA MER

CRUM

Commissaire : Pip Day

6 décembre 2014 - 14 février 2015

I OF WHOM I KNOW NOTHING

Pablo Sigg 

Commissaire: Pip Day

25 novembre - 29 novembre 2014

"M&A"

GOLDIN+SENNEBY

Participants : Jo Randerson (dramaturge), Paul Leong (banquier d’investissement), Ybodon (informaticien), Anna Heymowska (scénographe), Johan Hjerpe (graphiste) et Gerard Harris (acteur)

Collaboration : La Biennale de Montréal, BNLMTL 2014, L'avenir (looking forward)

27 septembre - 22 novembre 2014

ILLUSIONS PERDUES

Sarah Pierce

Participant : Thomas Dalbec

Commissaire : Pip Day

10 mai  - 28 juin 2014

A PROBLEM SO BIG IT NEEDS OTHER PEOPLE

Basil AlZeri, Daina Ashbee, Maggie Groat, Susan Hiller, Maria Hupfield, Tiziana La Melia, Tanya Lukin Linklater, Annie MacDonell, Gabrielle Moser et Chelsea Vowel

Commissaire : cheyanne turions

15 mars - 3 mai 2014

STAGE SET STAGE

Participants : Pablo de Ocampo, Andrea Geyer, Sharon Hayes, Maria Hupfield, Adam Kinner & Jacob Wren, Dorit Margreiter, Jeanne Randolph, Monique Régimbald-Zeiber, Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre, cheyanne turions

Commissaire : Barbara Clausen

30 novembre 2013 - 22 février 2014

TREVOR PAGLEN

Trevor Paglen

Commissaire : Paul Wombell

13e Mois de la Photo à Montréal

7 septembre au 9 novembre 2013

DÉBARCADÈRES / LANDINGS

Dustin Wilson, Zacharias Kunuk, Peter Pitseolak / Joanasie Salamonie 

Commissaire : Sarah Watson

23 mai - 6 juillet 2013

LA FABRIQUE DES IMAGES

Harun Farocki, Hito Steyerl

Commissaire : Pip Day

28 février -11 mai 2013

FAULT LINES / LIGNE DE FAILLE

Yael Bartana, Bertolt Brecht, François Bucher, Sophie Castonguay, Angela Melitopoulos & Maurizio Lazzarato

Commissaire : Pip Day

6 décembre 2012 - 16 février 2013