RESIDENCIES

Visuel Appel à candidature post IG.jpg

ONLINE PROGRAMMING

Michele Fiedler program.gif

Exhaling Aviary of Scattered Flights

Curator: Michele Fiedler

06.10.2021 - 02.11.2021

An online program of screenings and podcasts.

AG5.png

Amanda Gutierrez: RUIDO DE PAPEL/PAPER NOISE/BRUIT DE PAPIER

25.03.2021-01.05.2021

More information about this residency program is available here.

francisco_4 feb_2.png

Francisco Gonzalez-Rosas: LIGNES PERMÉABLES/PERMEABLE LINES

02.2021-03.2021

More information about this residency program is available here.

Couzyn_press_image.png

Michelle McGeogh and Jason Sikoak (digital residencies): part of the exhibition BAIT/APPÂT

More information about their residencies available here.

To see their work visit our Instagram.

FOCUS PROGRAMS

The Focus Programs are suspended for the duration of 2017. SBC is operating until December 2017 as Wood Land School, a project organized by Duane Linklater, Tanya Lukin Linklater and cheyanne turions, with Walter Scott.

In 2012, SBC launched its new initiative of long-term, research-based programming that focuses on pertinent cultural, social and political concerns. The program includes exhibitions, workshops, screenings, conferences, publications and events aimed towards sustained and extensive discussion around a given subject, and strives to articulate possibilities for creative action and re-assessment of the complexities of present-day political paradigms.

 

The first of the Focus Programs, Sovereignty, ran from Dec 2012 until February 2015. It approached this topic from a wide range of cultural, academic, institutional, geo-political and judicial perspectives, questions around the sovereign subject remained at the heart of the research. The program engaged with practices that addressed current and historical civic challenges to systems of governance; questions of sovereignty from a global perspective – addressing questions pertinent across Canada and elsewhere; and brought together artists and other interdisciplinary practitioners from around the globe whose interests lie in worrying the fault lines of seemingly entrenched parameters of political life.

 

The second Focus Program, Água Viva, emerged out of Clarice Lispector’s 1973 book of the same title and sought to expand on SBC's practice of living research: artists, writers, architects, musicians, curators and other cultural practitioners were invited to think together and to develop projects through and around this extraordinary piece of prose. Dispensing with narrative while dwelling in the “secret harmony of disharmony”, the Focus Program, like Clarice's Água Viva, sought to pull at the threads that articulate shifting political subjectivities, modes of address and the complexities between “you” and “I”.

Focus program
2015 - 2016

Residential homes

Exhibitions

 

 

 

 

Focus programs
2012 - 2015

Residencies

Exhibitions

RÉSIDENCES 2020-2022

PROGRAMMATION EN LIGNE

AG5.png

Amanda Gutierrez: RUIDO DE PAPEL/PAPER NOISE/BRUIT DE PAPIER

25.03.2021 - 01.05.2021

Plus d'information sur ce program est disponible ici.

francisco_4 feb_2.png

Francisco Gonzalez-Rosas: LIGNES PERMÉABLES/PERMEABLE LINES

02.2021-03.2021

Plus d'information sur ce program est disponible ici.

Couzyn_press_image.png

Michelle McGeough and Jason Sikoak (résidences numériques): accompagnent l'exposition BAIT/APPÂT

Plus d'information sur ces résidences est disponible ici.

Pour voir leur travail veuillez visiter notre Instagram.

Michele Fiedler program.gif

Une volière exhalante de vols épars

Commissaire: Michele Fiedler

06.10.2021 - 02.11.2021

Un programme virtuel de films et de podcasts.

PROGRAMMES CIBLÉS

Les programmes ciblés sont suspendus pour la durée de l’année 2017. SBC opère jusqu'en décembre 2017 en tant que Wood Land School, un projet organisé par Duane Linklater, Tanya Lukin Linklater et cheyanne turions, avec Walter Scott.

En 2012, SBC a lancé une nouvelle programmation axée sur une initiative de recherche à long terme à propos de questions culturelles, sociales et politiques d’actualité. Ce programme comprend des expositions, des ateliers, des projections, des conférences, des publications et d’autres événements dont le but est de susciter la réflexion approfondie sur un sujet donné, d’articuler des possibilités pour dynamiser la créativité et repenser la complexité des paradigmes politiques d’aujourd’hui.

 

Le premier élément du Programme Focus, Souveraineté, se déroule de décembre 2012 à février 2015. Abordant le sujet sous une grande variété de perspectives culturelles, académiques, institutionnelles, géopolitiques et légales, les questions sur la souveraineté du sujet demeurent au cœur de la recherche. Le programme comprend des pratiques qui étudient les défis actuels et historiques auxquels sont confrontés nos systèmes de gouvernance; les questions de souveraineté dans une perspective mondiale, en réfléchissant sur les questions pertinentes au Canada comme ailleurs, et rassemble des artistes et d’autres praticiens interdisciplinaires de partout au monde dont les intérêts reposent sur la remise en question à propos des paramètres entremêlés de la vie politique.

 

Le second élément du Programme Focus, Água Viva, émerge du livre du même titre de Clarice Lispector publié en 1973, et cherche à élargir les pratiques de SBC sur la recherche vivante : artistes, écrivains, architectes, musiciens, curateurs et autres praticiens culturels seront invités à réfléchir ensemble et à développer des projets inspirés par cette extraordinaire œuvre littéraire. Axé sur la trame narrative, et plongeant dans « l’harmonie secrète de la discordance », le Programme Focus, à l’instar d’Água Viva de Clarice, lève le voile sur les règles qui articulent la subjectivité politique changeante, les modes du dialogue et la complexité du « Vous » et du « Je ». 

Programme ciblé
2015 - 2016
 

Résidences

Expositions

 

 

 

 

Programme ciblé
2012 - 2015

Résidences

Expositions