Michele Fiedler program.gif

 

Stills from: (1) Cherán by Victor Arroyo, Mexico, Color, Stereo, HD, 70 mins., 2021, (2) Cuentos de mi niñez (Tales from My Childhood) by Francisca Duran, Chile/Canada, Color, 8:45 mins, 1991, (3) Lugar de Consuelo (Place of Solace) by Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa, Guatemala, Single-channel HD video, 35:26 mins, 2020, commissioned by The Power Plant, Toronto, (4) WILDNESS by Wu Tsang, United States, single channel HD video with stereo sound 74 minutes, 2012, courtesy of the artist, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Berlin.

An Exhaling Aviary of Scattered Flights

Curator: Michele Fiedler
06/10 - 02/11

 

EVENTS

DESCRIPTION

Week #1

October 6 to October 12

Film: Cherán, Victor Arroyo (2021)

Podcast: Conversation with Victor Arroyo y Tatà Meche, audio spoken word by Helena Martin Franco.

More information is available here.

Week #2

October 13 to October 19

Film: Cuentos de mi niñez, Francisca Durán (1991)

Podcast: Conversation with Francisca Durán.

More information is available here.

 

Week #3

October 20 to October 26

Film: Lugar de Consuelo, Naufus Ramírez (2020)

Podcast: Conversation with Naufus Ramírez and Wingston Gonzáles.

More information is available here.

Week #4

October 27 to November 2

Film: WILDNESS, Wu Tsang (2012)

Podcast: Conversation with Susana Vargas Cervantes.

More information is available here.

An Exhaling Aviary of Scattered Flights is an online programme of films and podcasts that touch on crucial socio-political events of the contemporary cross-border and diasporic reality of the Americas. Referring to only a few among the innumerable stories of the region, the exhibited works consist of documentaries, fiction, reenactments, conversations and commissions. 

 

The title, An Exhaling Aviary of Scattered Flights, is translated from a verse written by Chilean poet Jorge Lizama Pizarro which in Spanish reads “Pajarera sopladora/de vuelos dispersos.” It was published in his 1991 book El trapecista del infinito [Trapeze Artist of the Infinite], by Editions Gráfico in Montreal where he moved to in 1980 after working in different cities as a sailor. The text on the back cover of the book says he, like thousands of others, left Chile in 1974 after the Coup as part of “la generación quebrada” (the broken generation).*

 

The verse, not originally intended to mean this, has been borrowed for our program to express the immense number of stories before and after diasporas or of political, economic and social complications of the American South--some of which are shared by ways of indigenous populations throughout all the Americas. The four films that will screen, one per week, are about the uprising and self government of the Purhépecha community in Michoacán, México (Cherán, Victor Arroyo); a story of childhood memories from the Chilean migration (Tales from My Childhood, Francisca Duran); the rewriting and reenactment of a theater play that was censored during the Guatemalan Civil War by the military government (Place of Solace, Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa); and a bar’s power of community building for the trans and gay Latin American diaspora in Los Angeles (Wildness, Wu Tsang). The podcasts include conversations with the filmmakers, invited guests Tatá Meche, Dr. Susana Vargas Cervantes and Wingston González as well as a new commission by artist Helena Martin Franco. 

 

*I found El trapecista del infinito in a thrift store at Rue St-Hubert shortly after moving to Montreal. It was one of those rare finds that gives one a feeling of being in the right place at the right time. I didn’t know about Jorge Lizama Pizzaro before, but we shared a language and a city which at some point had been new to both of us, for extremely different reasons. Some of his life is told in the book, but apart from it, the information on the back cover is still all the information I have on the author. 

 

Michele Fiedler 

Montreal, 2021

Michele Fiedler program.gif

Stills from: (1) Cherán by Victor Arroyo, Mexico, Color, Stereo, HD, 70 mins., 2021, (2) Cuentos de mi niñez (Tales from My Childhood) by Francisca Duran, Chile/Canada, Color, 8:45 mins, 1991, (3) Lugar de Consuelo (Place of Solace) by Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa, Guatemala, Single-channel HD video, 35:26 mins, 2020, commissioned by The Power Plant, Toronto, (4) WILDNESS by Wu Tsang, United States, single channel HD video with stereo sound 74 minutes, 2012, courtesy of the artist, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Berlin.

Une volière exhalante de vols épars
Commissaire: Michele Fiedler
06/10 - 02/11

PROGRAMME

Semaine #1

Du 6 au 12 octobre

Film: Chéran, Victor Arroyo (2021)

Podcast: Conversation avec Victor Arroyo et Tatà Meche, pièce audio de Helena Martin Franco

Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici

Semaine #2

Du 13 au 19 octobre

Film: Cuentos de mi niñez, Francisca Durán (1991)

Podcast: Conversation avec Francisca Durán.

Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici

 

Semaine #3

Du 20 au 26 octobre

Film: Lugar de Consuelo, Naufus Ramírez (2020)

Podcast: Conversation avec Naufus Ramírez et Wingston Gonzáles

Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici

Semaine #4

Du 27 octobre au 2 novembre

Film: WILDNESS, Wu Tsang (2012)

Podcast: Conversation avec Susana Vargas Cervantes

Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici

DESCRIPTION

Une volière exhalante de vols épars est une programmation de films et de podcasts en ligne abordant des événements sociopolitiques cruciaux de la réalité transfrontalière et diasporique contemporaine des Amériques. Ne faisant référence qu'à quelques-unes des innombrables histoires de la région, les œuvres exposées sont des documentaires, des fictions, des reconstitutions, des conversations et des commandes. 

 

Le titre, An Exhaling Aviary of Scattered Flights, est traduit d'un vers du poète chilien Jorge Lizama Pizarro qui se lit en espagnol "Pajarera sopladora/de vuelos dispersos". Il a été publié en 1991 dans son livre El trapecista del infinito [Le trapéziste de l'infini], aux Éditions Gráfico à Montréal, où le poète s'est installé en 1980 après avoir travaillé dans différentes villes comme marin. La quatrième de couverture du livre indique à son propos que, comme des milliers d'autres, il a quitté le Chili en 1974 après le coup d'État, faisant partie de "la generación quebrada" (la génération brisée).

 

Ce vers, qui portait un sens différent à l'origine, a été emprunté dans le cadre de notre programmation afin d'exprimer les nombreuses histoires qui précèdent et suivent les diasporas ou les complications politiques, économiques et sociales en Amérique du Sud - dont certaines sont partagées par plusieurs populations autochtones des Amériques. Les quatre films qui, un par semaine, seront projetés, abordent des thématiques diverses : le soulèvement et l'autogestion de la communauté Purhépecha du Michoacán, au Mexique (Cherán, Victor Arroyo) ; le récit de souvenirs d'enfance de la migration chilienne (Tales from My Childhood, Francisca Duran) ; la réécriture et la reconstitution d'une pièce de théâtre censurée par le gouvernement militaire pendant la guerre civile guatémaltèque (Place of Solace, Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa) ; et le pouvoir d'un bar dans le développement des communautés diasporiques trans et gay d’Amérique latine, à Los Angeles (Wildness, Wu Tsang). De plus, les podcasts issus de cette programmation comprennent des conversations entre les réalisateurs et les invités Tatá Meche, Dr. Susana Vargas Cervantes et Wingston González ainsi qu'une nouvelle œuvre de l'artiste Helena Martin Franco commandée pour l’occasion.

 

*J'ai trouvé El trapecista del infinito dans une friperie de la rue St-Hubert peu après mon arrivée à Montréal. C'était une de ces rares trouvailles qui vous donnent le sentiment d'être au bon endroit au bon moment. Je ne connaissais pas Jorge Lizama Pizzaro auparavant, mais nous partagions une langue et une ville qui, à un moment donné, avaient été nouvelles pour nous deux, pour des raisons complètement différentes. Une partie de sa vie est racontée dans le livre, mais à part cela, les informations figurant sur la quatrième de couverture sont à ce jour les seules que je possède à son égard.

 

Michele Fiedler 

Montréal, 2021