LOOSELY ASSEMBLED / ASSEMBLAGES SOUPLES 

CYCLE 1 : COLLECTIVE QUESTION

 

 

15 FEBRUARY TO 15 APRIL 2019

 

Organized by Danielle St-Amour

 

Hosted by SBC Gallery

 

Exhibition design by Collective Question, in collaboration with Ali Shamas Qadeer

 

INDEX designed by Ali Shamas Qadeer

 

Build and design assistance by Mathieu Lambert

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

   DESCRIPTION

SBC is pleased to announce the opening of the multi-part exhibition, LOOSELY ASSEMBLED, organized by Danielle St-Amour. LOOSELY ASSEMBLED will examine the role of publishing in pedagogical, collective and radical spaces. The exhibition will unfold in four cycles between February and August 2019. The first cycle of the exhibition is organized by Collective Question, a working group comprised of Julie Niemi, Steven Chodoriwsky, and Christopher Lee, in collaboration with graphic designer Ali Shamas Qadeer.

 

 

Collective Question (CQ) investigates themes of radical pedagogy and the role of the syllabus within educational spaces. These lines of inquiry emerge from their archival research on Tolstoy College, an anarchist educational community active at the University at Buffalo at the State University of New York (SUNY Buffalo) between 1968 and 1985. Tolstoy was one of a number of experimental colleges founded by SUNY Buffalo in an attempt to appeal and connect to the radical youth movements of the 1960s, a project headed by then-President of the University, Martin Meyerson. Tolstoy College’s faculty members, including Charles Haynie and Charles “Chip” Planck, organized the college on a pacifist-anarchist platform, channelling Russian author Leo Tolstoy’s essays on education and his questions on “How to live?” and “What to live for?”

 

 

Focussing on expressions of Emotion and Feeling, Tolstoy College embedded and centered the personal and subjective experience of faculty and students in both the content and the infrastructure of its teachings. In this space, the syllabus was positioned both as the aspirational outline for pedagogical experiment, as well as an agreement of sorts with the bureaucratic university that simultaneously engaged and critiqued the host institution and its actions.

 

 

Rooted in these notions, CQ views the syllabus as a utopian form of publication that acts as many things: a contract, a shroud, a plan, a lie, a projection, a deflection, a script, and a document. For LOOSELY ASSEMBLED, CQ have composed a syllabus that positions both the gallery environment and the exhibition’s design as its elements. Objects such as brooms, chairs, tables, shelves, and so on become elements of this syllabus, alongside site-specific furniture and improvised construction within the gallery space. Each element of the syllabus has been chosen or created with an imperative to disrupt, provoke and encourage engagement with the the site and its materials, while facilitating the three primary imperatives of LOOSELY ASSEMBLED’s programming: Archiving, Making, and Circulating.

 

 

As infrastructure, CQ’s syllabus will be in continuous use by invited artists throughout the following three cycles of LOOSELY ASSEMBLED. The site will actively archive the materials and documents that are produced by each cycle. These materials will be made available in the INDEX, a web platform conceived and designed by Ali Shamas Qadeer to document, reflect upon, and critically engage with the work undertaken throughout LOOSELY ASSEMBLED.

EVENTS

ONLINE CONFERENCE

FROM COLLECTIVE QUESTION

LIVE ON OUR INSTAGRAM

FEBRUARY 10, 11 AM

VERNISSAGE / RECEPTION

FEBRUARY 20, 5-7PM

BIOS

ALI SHAMAS QADEER is a graphic designer and educator based in Toronto. He works in web, print, as well as web and print. After completing a BA in philosophy and religious studies at McGill University, he developed an independent design practice in New York City before returning to school to complete an MFA at the Rhode Island School of Design in 2014. His work focuses on algorithmic form-making, interaction design, and the possibility of graphic design to operate as a new discipline within the humanities. After returning to Canada in 2013, Ali joined the faculty of OCADU where he is an Assistant Professor in the graphic and industrial design programs.

http://work.iamasq.ca/

 

 

JULIE NIEMI is a curator, writer, and editor currently based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. She is an Assistant Curator at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center (JMKAC) in Sheboygan, Wisconsin. She received an M.A. from the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College, where she was commissioning editor of aCCeSsions. From 2013–2015, she was co-founder and editor of VIA Publication. Her writing has appeared in Frieze, Temporary Art Review, CAS, and Art21 Magazine.

Julieniemi.com

 

 

CHRIS LEE is a graphic designer and educator based Buffalo, NY, and Toronto, ON. He is a graduate of OCADU (Toronto) and the Sandberg Instituut (Amsterdam), and has worked for The Walrus Magazine, Metahaven and Bruce Mau Design. Chris’ research explores graphic design’s entanglement with power, standards, and legitimacy. Chris is an Assistant Professor at the University at Buffalo SUNY, and a member of the programming committee of Gendai Gallery, and Squeaky Wheel. He is currently co-guest-editing issue 141 of C magazine on the theme of “Graphic Design.”

Cairolexicon.com

 

 

STEVEN CHODORIWSKY is a designer, artist, writer and educator based in Los Angeles. His research-based practice employs a diverse range of media including installation, performance, and audio-visual artifacts. Chodoriwsky teaches at Cal Poly Pomona in the Departments of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, as well as at Woodbury University. As an artist, he has held research positions at the Jan van Eyck Academie, Maastricht, and at the Center for Contemporary Art, Kitakyushu. He has presented and performed work at international venues including, among others, the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art, Toronto, de Appel Arts Centre, Amsterdam, and the Suzuki Company of Toga International Theatre Festival, Japan.

​ e-d-i-t-s.info

ASSEMBLAGES SOUPLES / LOOSELY ASSEMBLED

CYCLE 1 : COLLECTIVE QUESTION

 

 

15 FÉVRIER AU 15 AVRIL 2019

 

Organisée par Danielle St-Amour

 

Présentée par la Galerie SBC

 

Conception d’exposition par Collective Question, en collaboration avec Ali Shamas Qadeer

 

INDEX conçu par Ali Shamas Qadeer

Assistant à la conception et à la construction : Mathieu Lambert

 

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

Crédit: Clara Lacasse

   DESCRIPTION

La galerie SBC est heureuse d’annoncer le lancement de l’exposition à volets multiples ASSEMBLAGES SOUPLES / LOOSELY ASSEMBLED, organisée par Danielle St-Amour. ASSEMBLAGES SOUPLES traitera du rôle de l’édition dans les espaces pédagogiques, collectifs et radicaux. L’exposition se déroulera sur quatre cycles entre les mois de février et d’août 2019. Le premier d’entre eux est organisé par Collective Question, un groupe de travail composé de Julie NiemiSteven Chodoriwsky et Chris Lee, en collaboration avec le graphiste Ali Shamas Qadeer.

 

Collective Question (CQ) explore les thèmes de la pédagogie radicale et le rôle du plan de cours scolaire à l’intérieur d’espaces éducatifs. Ses champs de recherche sont issus de l’étude archivistique du Tolstoy College, une communauté éducative anarchiste active à l’Université d’état de New York à Buffalo (SUNY Buffalo), entre 1968 et 1985. Tolstoy était l’un des collèges expérimentaux fondés par SUNY Buffalo dans l’effort de joindre et de répondre aux intérêts des mouvements de jeunesse radicaux des années 1960. Ce projet avait à sa tête Martin Mayerson, le président de l’Université à l’époque. Incluant comme membres Charles Haynie et Charles « Chip » Planck, la faculté du Tolstoy Collegecoordonnait ses activités selon des principes d’anarchisme non violent, tout en étant guidée par les essais sur l’éducation de l’auteur russe Leo Tolstoy et par ses questions : « Comment vivre ? » et « Pour quoi vivre ? ».

 

En se concentrant sur l’expression de l’Émotion et du Sentiment, le Tolstoy Collegeintégrait et ralliait les expériences personnelles et subjectives de la faculté et des étudiants par le contenu et l’infrastructure de ses enseignements. Dans ce contexte, le plan de cours était simultanément une forme d’aspiration à l’expérimentation pédagogique ainsi qu’une entente informelle avec l’université bureaucratique, en s’intégrant et critiquant simultanément son établissement d’accueil et ses actions. Ancré dans ces notions, CQconçoit le syllabus comme une forme utopique qui tient des rôles variés, en tant que contrat, suaire, plan, mensonge, projection, déviation, script et document. Dans le cadre d’ASSEMBLAGES SOUPLES, l’environnement de la galerie et son design d’exposition deviennent les éléments du syllabus composé par CQ. Des objets usuels incluant balais, chaises, tables, étagères et ainsi de suite forment ce dernier aux côtés de mobilier spécifique à la galerie et de constructions improvisées en ses murs. Chaque élément a été choisi ou conçu avec la contrainte de déranger, de provoquer ou d’encourager l’engagement au site et à ses matériaux, tout en soutenant les principaux impératifs de la programmation : Archiver, Produire, Mettre en circulation.

 

 

Jouant le rôle de structure, le syllabus de CQ sera continuellement revisité par les artistes invités au cours des trois cycles ultérieurs d’ASSEMBLAGES SOUPLES. Ainsi, l’espace d’exposition constituera l’archive des matériaux et des documents produits sous chaque phase. Cette archive sera disponible sous l’INDEX, une plate-forme web conçue par Ali Shamas Qadeer, qui servira de documentation, de réflexion et d’engagement critique par rapport au travail entrepris pour la durée complète d’ASSEMBLAGES SOUPLES.

ÉVÉNEMENTS

CONFÉRENCE EN LIGNE

DE COLLECTIVE QUESTION

EN DIRECT SUR NOTRE INSTAGRAM

10 FÉVRIER, 11H

 

VERNISSAGE / RÉCEPTION

20 FÉVRIER, 17H-19H

BIOS

ALI SHAMAS QADEER est un concepteur graphique et enseignant établi à Toronto. Il travaille sur le web, en impression, ainsi que sur le recoupement de ces deux pratiques. Après avoir complété un baccalauréat en études religieuses à l’Université McGill, il a développé une pratique indépendante de design à New York, puis a complété un MFA au Rhode Island School of Design en 2014. Son travail est axé sur la conception algorithmique de formes, la conception interactive et le design graphique en tant que discipline des sciences humaines. Depuis son retour au Canada en 2013, Ali a joint la faculté du OCADU, où il est professeur adjoint aux programmes de Design Graphique et de Design Industriel.

http://work.iamasq.ca/

 

JULIE NIEMI est une commissaire, écrivaine et éditrice établie à Milwaukee, au Wisconsin. Elle est Assistante Commissaire au John Michael Kohler Arts Center (JMKAC) à Sheboygan, au Wisconsin. Elle a obtenu une maitrise au Center for Curatorial Studies du Bard College, où elle était chargée de programme au journal aCCeSsions. Entre 2013 et 2015, elle fut éditrice de VIA Publication, dont elle fut cofondatrice. Ses écrits ont paru dans les magazines Frieze, Temporary Art Review, CAS et Art21.

Julieniemi.com

 

CHRIS LEE est un concepteur graphique et enseignant établi à Buffalo et à Toronto. Il est gradué de OCADU (Toronto) et du Sandberg Instituut (Amsterdam), et a travaillé pour The Walrus Magazine, Metahaven et Bruce Mau Design. Sa recherche explore l’enchevêtrement du design au pouvoir, aux normes qui définissent le standard et au concept de légitimité. Chris est professeur adjoint à l’Université de Buffalo SUNY et membre du comité de programmation à la Gendai Gallery et à Squeaky Wheel. Il est présentement co-éditeur invité du numéro 141 de C Magazine sur le thème « Graphic Design ».

Cairolexicon.com

 

STEVEN CHODORIWSKY est un concepteur graphique, artiste, écrivain et professeur établi à Los Angeles. Sa pratique de recherche combine un éventail de médias dont l’installation, la performance et les artefacts audiovisuels. Chodoriwsky enseigne à Cal Poly Pomona, aux départements d’architecture et de design de l’environnement, ainsi qu’à l’Université Woodbury. En tant qu’artiste, il a occupé des positions de recherche à la Jan van Eyck Academie à Maastricht, et au Center for Contemporary Art à Kitakyushu. Il a présenté son travail et ses performances sur un plan international, notamment au MOCCA à Toronto, au centre d’arts de Appel à Amsterdam et au Suzuki Company of Toga International Theatre Festival au Japon.

e-d-i-t-s.info