RUIDO DE PAPEL / PAPER NOISE / BRUIT DE PAPIER

Artist in Residence: Amanda Gutiérrez

25.03.2021 - 01.05.2021

EVENTS

Closing Event

April 17, 2021 at 6pm

Live performance by Amanda Gutiérrez. For more details please click here.

Sonido Verde

Saturday 20 March : 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Sonido Verde is an interdisciplinary workshop, given by Colectivo Vivas (ARG) and Amanda Gutiérrez (MX). The workshop addresses aspects of listening to and creating the soundscape as a form of resistance and creation. It will analyse and work with creative processes linked to ecofeminist and xenofeminist practices, where technology functions as a collective tool of oral history.

By: Amanda Gutiérrez y #VIVAS

Young people and adults

Free activity - Limited capacity


mazinfo@zapopan.gob.mx | 3338182575

ABOUT THE PROJECT

Text by Lola Baraldi

 

Collage, self and city: the wandering steps of PAPER NOISE/BRUIT DU PAPIER/RUIDO DE PAPEL 

ProtectIn.jpg

ARTIST BIOGRAPHY

Amanda Gutiérrez (b. 1978, Mexico City) Trained and graduated initially as a stage designer from The National School of Theater in Mexico, Gutiérrez uses a range of media such as sound and performance art to investigate the aural culture of everyday life. Gutierrez is actively advocating listening practices while being one of the board of directors of the World Listening Project, formerly working with The Midwest Society of Acoustic Ecology, and currently as the scientific comitée of the Red Ecología Acústica México. 


Currently, she is a Ph.D. student at Concordia University and a research assistant at lab  PULSE  and Acts of Listening Lab. Gutiérrez has held numerous art residencies at FACT, Liverpool in the UK, ZKM in Germany, TAV in Taiwan, Bolit Art Center in Spain, and her work has been exhibited internationally in venues such as The Liverpool Biennale in 2012, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council. A recipient of a grant from the National System of Art Creators, in Mexico, Gutiérrez recently was the recipient of residencies at the New York Camera Club, Harvestworks, and MISE-EN_PLACE Bushwick.

​​

AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY

Lola Baraldi is a creative project manager currently working with MUTEK Montréal to coordinate partnerships, the virtual platform, and digital projects. Passionate about our relationship to urban space and the dialogues on the walls, her research on music and street art has been published in initiatives like Norient’s “Sampling Politics Today” series and Queens University’s “Context and Meaning” conference. Lola is now studying a Masters in Cultural and Artistic Management and has been active in the music industry since 2017, starting as a writer promoting Montreal’s electronic music scene and picking up new hats along the way. She sits on Montreal’s Night Council, run by MTL 24/24, and is always interested in learning more about the night-time economy and music history.

It’s march 2021. Creative spaces are muted, social lives are dormant, and different forms of control are draping cities in rules, regulating how our bodies may move. As I walk towards SBC with paintbrushes in my bag and a pandemic at our heels, having somewhere unknown and indoors to go to feels transgressive. Out of sync.

 

The 5 empty floors leading up to SBC Gallery add to the secrecy. Sitting above scurrying St. Catherine’s street and its undeterred buyers, this gallery has become an impromptu maker space. Tonight, it hosts a few members of Collages Feministes Montréal, whose usual mobilizations are sandwiched between the end of daylight, and the start of curfew.  

 

Painting has already started. A4 Letters that are usually placed to dry on bedroom floors and balcony corners are strewn across the common floor. One colleuse slips up while painting a curve, and crumples the paper. “It’s messed up now”, Kira says. Amanda Gutierrez rushes to grab the discarded paper before it’s thrown away, setting it on one of the gallery’s passing installations; “that’s perfect.”

 

She gives a knowing glance as she looks around, her eyes registering what we are less trained to see - the invisible theatre of a shifting space.  

PAPER NOISE/BRUIT DU PAPIER/RUIDO DE PAPEL

 

Gutierrez has been giving a silhouette to the ephemeral for two decades now, as a lifelong student of sound and performance. Her work surveys conflicts of collectivity and identity in the urban space - and how they are wedded into the surrounding acoustics. Through a participatory research approach, she examines how the perception of our self and our other is shaped and swayed by inherited systems, surrounding sounds and social norms. She questions how human-made constructs - such as borders and gender - affect and restrict one’s identity, one’s movements.

 

PAPER NOISE/BRUIT DU PAPIER/RUIDO DE PAPEL explored the use of physical and audio collage as tools of resistance to these restrictions, and mediums to articulate one’s place within the city’s codes and flows. Throughout a six-week residency, Gutierrez assembled perspectives from feminist collectives entrenched in urban life: Collages Féminicides Paris, Collages Féminicides Montréal, Collages Féministes Montréal, VIVAS Buenos Aires and Womxn Walk the Walk. 

ProtectIndige.jpg

Performance from perspectives

 

Gutierrez’s scenographic conscience and theatre production background was reinvested into setting up five phases: Introspection, Collectivity, Iteration, Resonance and Dialogue. 

Various works, with mediums ranging from paper to Augmented Reality, were adapted from interviews, conversations, and field recordings from the #NiUnaMenos protests in Buenos Aires. 

 

Turning the exhibition into a space of mutation was inspired by the agitated fluxus movement of the 1960s and 1970s, and its deconstruction of norms. Like the fluxus mischief-makers, PAPER NOISE embraced ephemerality, involved the viewer, and made improvisation its medium. Rearranging SBC weekly, based on emerging dialogues, captured the spontaneity of oral storytelling - and perhaps prompted the rawer side of our reactions. PAPER NOISE demonstrated the interconnectedness of art, identity, and daily experiences. This also broke with the conception of a gallery as a white cube, to welcome the brazen craft of disruption. 

 

Walking the city as identity 

 

Between each of the five phases, a keen eye observed before creating. 

 

This learned capacity to observe flows from years of flânerie and walking the city with curious pupils, reading the faces between buildings. A flâneuse turned facilitator, Gutierrez’s perspective is particularly rooted in the gendered experience of urban space. Popularized by the dandyist prose of Charles Baudelaire in 19th century Paris, the concept of “flâneurie” - roaming the city as leisure, observing, with no destination or agenda – is steeped in the footsteps of art movements over the decades, from Surrealists to Situationists. Within this tapestry, a question mark emerges, one that points to the absence of female flâneuse figures on the surfaces of modern literature (Janet Wolff, ‘The Invisible Flâneuse’). The woman freely wandering the streets of Baudelaire’s Paris, for instance, risked the association with prostitution (Susan Buck-Morss, ‘Walter Benjamin: escritor revolucionario’) before one of contemplation. 

 

The right to move one’s body freely in the public space has historically been a different one for different genders, whose footsteps have been met with varying levels of cultural and social inclusion, exclusion, or violence. In our daily walks of life, the fear of being harmed or harassed can lead us to contort the self, in exchange for greater protection in public - by adopting new techniques, behaviors, habits or clothing. 

 

Collage as resistance

 

PAPER NOISE mapped one of the ways in which organized groups of women, trans and non-binary people expressed experiences of gendered and racial violence. It spotlighted the street collage method adopted by decentralized feminist movements around the world. 

 

By hitting the walls of a city with a black on white ephemeral slogan, these groups insert alternative words and tones into public dialogue. City space is (re)claimed and vocalized.

 

The act of pasting is one of performance, that recognizes the exclusions of urban life, and answers through a chosen form of “urban intervention” - which, as graffiti does, “subverts the system, persistently throwing spanners into the works, counteracting homogeneity” (Alain Bieber, ‘Desires’)

wheatpaste2.jpg

Audio as power 

 

PAPER NOISE magnified the soundscapes of collaging: of the evening pasting process, rushed and cooperative, and of audio productions by #VIVAS, sound and live performance developed from a collective sound database of feminist political marches in Latin America.

 

https://vimeo.com/532725873 

 

Amanda once told us that the substance, the weight of the meaning, lies in the audio. Sound conducts the intention of our words, exposes the silence, communicates the rage, quiver or thrill of a voice. Our spoken languages frame the scope of our understanding. Sound is a medium for truths across our fragmented lived experiences. 

 

Together we wonder - how do the background noises we hear daily create subtle sources of friction, or harmony, in our relationship to the surrounding space? 

 

In conclusion, and continuity: Xeno Walk 

 

The experiments of the residency continuously centered the work of collective feminists through technology, used as a medium to magnify voices and generate empathy. 

 

Recorded throughout the six weeks, a spatial sound project named “Xeno Walk, an aural essay about collective feminism” gathers key field recordings, interviews and dialogues. Militant voices from the Global North and South are overlapped and woven into the cityscape, as they discuss constrictive environments. Presented as part of Pop Montreal 2021, the project geolocalizes audio excerpts across key Mile End locations, which walkers can listen to using an Augmented Reality application. 

 

In using new tools to amplify underrepresented voices, Xeno Walk maps out what Elizabeth Grosz refers to as an essential alternative model and new space for women, one where knowledges and technologies are built in accordance to their experiences and needs - and not just inherited from masculine perspectives. 

 

Projected in this new digital space, the flâneuse finally talks back -  to a city that matches her in complexity.

RUIDO DE PAPEL / PAPER NOISE / BRUIT DE PAPIER

Artiste en résidence: Amanda Gutiérrez

25.03.2021 - 01.05.2021

ÉVÉNEMENTS

Événement de finissage

 

17 avril, 2021 à 18h

Performance en direct virtuelle d'Amanda Gutiérrez. Pour plus d'information veuillez cliquez ici.

Atelier : Sonido Verde (Son Vert)
 

Samedi 20 mars, 11h - 13h

Sonido Verde (Son vert) est un atelier interdisciplinaire, donné par Colectivo Vivas (ARG) et Amanda Gutiérrez (MX). L'atelier aborde les aspects de l'écoute et de la création du paysage sonore en tant que forme de résistance et de création. Il analysera et travaillera avec des processus créatifs liés aux pratiques écoféministes et xénoféministes, où la technologie fonctionne comme un outil collectif d'histoire orale.

Par : Amanda Gutiérrez et #VIVAS

 

Activité gratuite - Capacité limitée

Jeunes et adultes

mazinfo@zapopan.gob.mx | 3338182575

À PROPOS DU PROJET

Texte par Lola Baraldi

 

Le collage, une identité: les pas vagabonds de PAPER NOISE/ BRUIT DU PAPIER/ RUIDO DE PAPEL  

ProtectIn.jpg

BIOGRAPHIE DE L'ARTISTE

Amanda Gutiérrez (née 1978, Ville de Mexico) Formée et diplômée initialement comme scénographe de l’École nationale de théâtre au Mexique, Gutiérrez utilise une gamme de médias tels que le son et la performance pour enquêter la culture auditive de la vie quotidienne. Gutiérrez préconise activement les pratiques d’écoute tout en étant l'une des membres du conseil d'administration du World Listening Project, travaillant auparavant avec la Midwest Society of Acoustic Ecology, et actuellement en tant que membre du comité scientifique de la Red Ecología Acústica México. 

 

Actuellement, elle est étudiante au doctorat à l'Université Concordia et assistante de recherche au laboratoire PULSE et Acts of Listening Lab. Gutiérrez a organisé de nombreuses résidences d'art à FACT, Liverpool au Royaume-Uni, ZKM en Allemagne, TAV à Taiwan, Bolit Art Center en Espagne, et son travail a été présenté en exposition à l’internationale dans des lieux tels que la Biennale de Liverpool en 2012, le Lower Manhattan Cultural Council. Bénéficiaire d'une bourse du National System of Art Creators, au Mexique, Gutiérrez a récemment été destinataire de résidences au New York Camera Club, Harvestworks et MISE-EN_PLACE Bushwick.

BIOGRAPHIE DE L'AUTEURE

Lola Baraldi est une gestionnaire de projets créatifs qui travaille actuellement avec MUTEK Montréal pour coordonner les partenariats, la plateforme virtuelle et les projets numériques. Passionnée par notre relation avec l'espace urbain et les dialogues sur les murs, ses recherches sur la musique et les arts de la rue ont été publiées dans des initiatives telles que la série "Sampling Politics Today" de Norient et la conférence "Context and Meaning" de l'Université Queens. Lola étudie actuellement une maîtrise en gestion culturelle et artistique et est active dans l'industrie de la musique depuis 2017, commençant comme rédactrice pour promouvoir la scène de musique électronique de Montréal et prenant de nouvelles casquettes en cours de route. Elle siège au Conseil de la nuit de Montréal, dirigé par MTL 24/24, et est toujours intéressée à en apprendre davantage sur l'économie nocturne et l'histoire de la musique.

Nous sommes en mars 2021. La vie sociale hiberne et les espaces créatifs veillent. Cet hiver, nous voilà emballé.e.s sous plusieurs couches de mesures sanitaires, délimitant le déplacement de nos corps à travers la ville. En marchant vers la galerie SBC, des pinceaux dans mon sac et une pandémie à nos trousses, le fait de me diriger vers un endroit inconnu, à l’intérieur, me semble transgressif. Désynchronisé avec les temps.

Mes pas résonnent en passant par les cinq étages vides qui mènent à SBC, perchée au-dessus de la rue Sainte-Catherine, où se bousculent d’imperturbables acheteur.euse.s. Histoire d’épouser l’exposition en cours, la galerie s’est improvisée en véritable maker space. Ce soir, elle accueille quelques membres du collectif Collages Féministes Montréal, dont les mobilisations noctambules se sont étroitement agencées après le coucher de soleil et avant le début du couvre-feu.

 

La peinture à déjà commencé. Les feuilles A4, habituellement placées à sécher sur les sols des chambres et les coins des balcons, sont éparpillées sur le plancher. En peignant la courbe d’une lettre, la main d’une colleuse glisse. Kira jette le papier par frustration, annonçant "C'est fichu maintenant". Amanda Gutierrez se précipite pour attraper la feuille froissée la posant sur l'une des installations éphémères de la galerie ; "C'est parfait".

 

Elle lance un regard complice autour de la pièce, détectant ce que nous sommes moins habitué.e.s à voir - le théâtre invisible d'un espace provisoire.

 

PAPER NOISE/BRUIT DU PAPIER/RUIDO DE PAPEL

 

Étudiante de longue date en son et performance, Gutierrez interprète les silhouettes des espaces éphémères depuis maintenant deux décennies. Son travail porte sur les conflits de collectivité et d'identité au sein de l'espace urbain, et sur la manière dont ceux-ci se mêlent à l'acoustique environnante. Utilisant une approche de recherche participative, elle examine la manière dont la perception de soi et de l'autre est façonnée par des systèmes dont nous avons hérité, ainsi que par les sons avoisinants et les normes sociales. Elle interroge comment les frontières, le genre, et autres constructions humaines affectent et restreignent nos identités, nos mouvements.

 

PAPER NOISE/ BRUIT DU PAPIER/ RUIDO DE PAPEL explore l'utilisation du collage physique et audio comme outil de résistance face à ces contraintes, et comme moyen d’expression à travers les codes et les flux de la vie en ville. Au cours d'une résidence de six semaines, Gutierrez a rassemblé les perspectives de collectifs féministes ancrés dans la vie urbaine, les transformant en support de création : Collages Féminicides Paris, Collages Féminicides Montréal, Collages Féministes Montréal, VIVAS Buenos Aires et Womxn Walk the Walk. 

ProtectIndige.jpg

La perception comme mise en scène

 

La sensibilité scénographique et la formation en production théâtrale de Gutierrez ont été réinvesties dans la mise en place de cinq phases : Introspection, Collectivité, Itération, Résonance et Dialogue. Diverses œuvres, créées à base de papier, texte, ou réalité augmentée, ont été adaptées à partir d'entretiens, de conversations et d'enregistrements de terrain réalisés lors des manifestations #NiUnaMenos à Buenos Aires. 

 

La transformation de l'exposition en un espace de mutation a été inspirée par le mouvement Fluxus des années 1960 et 1970 et sa déconstruction cinglante des normes. Comme les espiègleries du mouvement Fluxus, PAPER NOISE a embrassé l'éphémère, impliqué les spectateur.trice.s et composé par improvisation. En fonction des dialogues naissants, le réaménagement hebdomadaire de SBC a permis de saisir la spontanéité de la narration orale - et a peut-être provoqué le caractère plus brut de nos réactions. En mettant en lien la relation entre l'art, l'identité et les expériences quotidiennes, PAPER NOISE a rompu avec la conception d'une galerie en tant que cube blanc, accueillant un artisanat effronté et perturbateur. 

 

Parcourir la ville comme source d’identité 

 

Entre chacune des cinq phases, un œil attentif observe avant de créer. 

 

Cette capacité d'observation acquise découle d'années de flânerie, de promenades aux pupilles curieuses lisant les visages entre les bâtiments. Une flâneuse devenue intervenante, l’approche de Gutierrez est ancrée dans l'expérience genrée de l'espace urbain. Popularisé par la prose dandy de Charles Baudelaire dans le Paris du XIXe siècle, le concept de "flânerie" - parcourir la ville comme un loisir, en observant, sans destination ni fins - traverse les mouvements artistiques au fil des décennies, des surréalistes aux situationnistes. Au cœur de cette structure, un point d’interrogation quant à l'absence des flâneuses féminines dans la littérature moderne subsiste (Janet Wolff, "The Invisible Flâneuse"). La femme errant librement dans les rues du Paris de Baudelaire, par exemple, était plus facilement associée à la prostitution (Susan Buck-Morss, "Walter Benjamin : escritor revolucionario") que la contemplation.

D’un point de vue historique, le droit de librement déplacer son corps dans l'espace public a varié selon l’identité de genre, rencontrant des degrés inégaux d'inclusion culturelle et sociale, d'exclusion ou de violence. Dans notre vie quotidienne, la peur d'être blessé.e ou harcelé.e peut nous amener à la contorsion de soi, à l’adoption de nouvelles techniques, comportements, habitudes ou vêtements aidant à se sentir mieux protégé.e au sein des espaces publics.

 

Le collage comme résistance

 

PAPER NOISE a cartographié l'une des façons dont des groupes de femmes, de personnes trans et non-binaires ont exprimé leur expérience de la violence sexiste et raciale. L’exposition a mis en lumière la méthode de collage de rue adoptée par des mouvements féministes décentralisés, à travers le monde entier. 

 

En marquant les murs d'une ville d’un slogan passager, noir sur blanc, ces groupes rejoignent le débat public avec des mots et points de vue alternatifs, revendiquant et verbalisant l’espace urbain.

 

Une forme de performance, ces collages s’adressent aux exclu.e.s de la vie urbaine par une forme choisie d'intervention publique - qui, comme le graffiti, "subvertit le système, en lui mettant constamment des bâtons dans les roues, en contrecarrant l'homogénéité" (Alain Bieber, "Désirs"). 

wheatpaste2.jpg

L'audio comme pouvoir 

 

PAPER NOISE a creusé les paysages sonores du collage. Celui du collage nocturne, hâtif et coopératif, et ceux des productions audio #VIVAS, ces performances sonores live développées à partir d'une base de données audio collective issue de marches politiques féministes en Amérique latine.

 

https://vimeo.com/532725873 

 

Amanda nous confie un jour que toute la substance et le poids ressentis se retrouvent dans le son. Le son enveloppe nos mots, expose le silence, communique la rage, le frémissement ou le frisson d'une voix. Les langues que nous parlons encadrent notre compréhension. Le son est un conducteur stable de vérité au fil de nos expériences fragmentées. Et donc, comment sommes-nous accueillis par les bruits de fond quotidiens ? Peuvent-ils être de subtiles sources de friction, ou d’harmonie avec l’espace qui nous forme ? 

 

En conclusion, et dans la continuité : Xeno Walk 

 

Les expérimentations de la résidence ont centré le travail de collectifs féministes à travers la technologie, utilisée comme un outil pour magnifier les voix et susciter l'empathie. 

 

Enregistré tout au long des six semaines, un projet sonore spatial intitulé "Xeno Walk, an aural essay about collective feminism" rassemble des enregistrements de terrain, des entrevues et des dialogues. Des voix militantes du Nord et du Sud sont superposées et intégrées au paysage urbain, abordant leurs luttes, contraintes et parcours de vie. Présenté dans le cadre de Pop Montréal 2021, le projet géolocalise des extraits audio dans des lieux clés du Mile End, que les promeneurs et promeneuses peuvent écouter à l'aide d'une application de réalité augmentée. 

 

En utilisant de nouveaux outils qui amplifient ces voix sous-représentées, Xeno Walk cartographie ce qu'Elizabeth Grosz désigne comme  modèle alternatif essentiel, un nouvel espace pour les femmes, où les connaissances et les technologies sont construites en fonction de leurs expériences et de leurs besoins - et non seulement héritées de perspectives masculines.

 

Projetée dans ce nouvel espace numérique, la flâneuse prend enfin la parole et donne la réplique à une ville. Une ville qui lui ressemble dans sa complexité.