top of page
MAHKU_Visuel exposition_26.08.22.png

Work: Pedro Maná (MAHKU), Txain,Txai (Brother-in-law, brother-in-law), acrylic on canvas2021

EVENTS

 

Art and territorial recovery

Round table

Saturday, September 3rd, 3:30 - 5pm

Opening

Saturday, September 3rd, 5:30 - 7pm

Meet with the curator

Saturday, October 1, from 3:30 to 4:30 pm

Daniel Dinato, co-curator of the exhibition will be present at the gallery to welcome and discuss with the public

Dissident art platforms: a brazilian perspective

Friday October 21 2021: 5:00 to 8:00pm

THE CURATORS
Daniel + Ibâ .jpeg

 

Ibã Huni Kuin, artist, curator and founder of MAHKU
Ibã Huni Kuin (1964) is an artist, researcher and txana, an expert on songs. In the 1980s, he began research with his father, Tuin, and his uncles to revive the huni meka songs and the hanxta kuin language. It is within this framework of research that he and his son Bane founded MAHKU in 2012.


Ibã is also an activist who fights for the affirmation of the Huni Kuin culture and for the strengthening of their economic and political autonomy. This policy of affirmation is based on a strategy of alliances with other indigenous groups, but also with txai (non-indigenous allies). It is in this context that Ibã Huni Kuin, in collaboration with Daniel Dinato, had the idea of an exhibition outside Brazil, which would allow his community to forge new links. 

Daniel Dinato, co-curator-txai and anthropologist

Daniel Dinato (1990) studied both social anthropology and curatorial studies and has been researching and collaborating alongside MAHKU since 2016. Since then, he developed a close bond with artists of the collective, especially Ibã with whom he created the exhibition Venda tela, compra terra. Currently a PhD student at the University of Quebec in Montreal, he has been developing with MAHKU the concept of curator-txai, a long-term curatorial practice based on affinities and difference. 


Dinato is a member of the Interuniversity Center for Indigenous studies and research (CIÉRA), the Interdisciplinary Research Group on Contemporary Indigenous Assertions (GRIAAC) and the Núcleo de Antropologia das Sociedades Indígenas e Tradicionais (NIT-UFRGS).    

ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

 

"...Music is life, nixi pae (ayahuasca) is life. Paintings are alive in the museum, in the gallery, in people’s homes, it lives with us. Paint is therefore life. 

Paint is also our weapon. That is, it is our product, our production, just like music. It is what we produce. So that is it: sell art, buy land. Sell art, buy a home. Sell art, buy a motor. Sell art, buy food, clothing, medicine. Sell art and help your close ones. The canvas stays alive like that..."

Ibã Huni Kuin, 10 June 2022

For the Huni Kuin, an Indigenous community of about 14,000 people who live across the state of Acre in Brazil and Peru, taking care of the planet means taking care of nixi pae, the ayahuasca. The protection of ayahuasca is, in other words, intrinsically related to the protection of forests, rivers, and land and to the cultivation of Huni Kuin existence in its physical, spiritual, and intellectual forms. It is through the ritual experience of ayahuasca that the community accesses a mythical space-time where past, present, and future are intertwined and correspond with an infinite number of yuxin, indirectly visible beings. To protect ayahuasca is to protect the conditions for Huni Kuin existence.


MAHKU (Movimento dos Artists Huni Kuin), a collective of Huni Kuin researchers and visual artists, has been enacting such protection for the past ten years, engaging practices of contemporary art to safeguard and renew ancestral knowledge and to recuperate ancestral territory. MAKHU transforms huni meka, songs sung during nixi pae ceremonies, into paintings, creating poetic artworks that give us access to the deeply relational ontology of the Huni Kuin. MAHKU then integrates these works into the contemporary art market as audiovisual installations and murals, not only Indigenizing the art world in the process, but also redirecting the monetary income of these works to the community through the purchase of land, food, gas, clothing, etc.


Vende tela, compra terra (sell the canvas, buy land) focuses on this process, highlighting the collective’s artistic, militant, and communal axes and their search for financial and territorial autonomy. The exhibition takes its name from MAHKU’s purchase, with the amount the collective received from the sale of a canvas in 2014, of the ten hectares of land on which they established the MAHKU Independent Center, a place for research, artistic experimentation, and the preservation of the forest and of Huni Kuin knowledge. 

Formalized in 2012, MAKHU began as an extension of long-term intergenerational research on huni meka chants by founding member, researcher, and visual artist Ibã Huni Kuin, together with his father Tuni Huni Kuin, and his son, visual artist Bane Huni Kuin. In the early 80s, Ibã Huni Kuin started recording and registering the huni meka chants sung by his father and uncles, becoming a txana , a singing master himself at the same time. Twenty years later, his son Bane began to transform these chants into images so as to better memorize their lyrics and visualize their nonlinear narratives. By painting, the artists of MAKHU translate the meaning and feeling of huni meka, giving viewers a glimpse of the mirações, visions produced by the ingestion of ayahuasca and by the ritual of listening to chants.

Vende tela, compra terra gathers paintings, drawings, legal documents, objects, and recordings of huni meka, which together attest to MAKHU’s complex contemporary art practice and their claim to visual art as a weapon in the struggle for the political, ecological, and cultural autonomy of the Huni Kuin people. MAHKU’s resistant artistic practice parallels the various emancipatory social movements being taken up by Indigenous peoples across the Americas that concern ancestral rights and environmental justice.


The exhibition is the materialization of a collective process between Indigenous and non-Indigenous collaborators: co-curator Ibâ Huni Kuin, co-curator-txai Daniel Dinato, MAHKU artists Pedro Maná, Cleiber Bane, Acelino Tuin, and Kássia Borges, and the SBC Gallery of Contemporary Art txai-team. This partnership expands on MAHKU’s and Daniel’s research into the concept of txai, meaning brother/sister-in-law in hantxa kuin, Huni Kuin language, as a way of emphasizing a kinship in a long-term collaborative artistic practice based on affinities and differences.

THE ARTISTS

 

Painting, the main artistic production of Mahku, was born in 2012 out of the need to revive collective knowledge on the verge of disappearing, and consists of translating Huni meka songs that guide ayahuasca rituals and certain myths into images. Guided by Ibã Huni Kuin, the artists transform and create bridges with the non-Indigenous through murals, drawings and installations while building alliances and strategies of autonomy.

Currently, the works of the collective are part of the collection of the Museum of Art of São Paulo (MASP) Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo and Fondation Cartier, in Paris. Among the exhibitions in which they participated, there is Histoires de Voir (Fondation Cartier), Les Vivants (Fondation Cartier/Lille 3000), Mestizo Stories (Tomie Ohtake Institute), 35th Panorama of Brazilian Art: Brazil by Multiplication (MAM-SP), Avenida Paulista (MASP), Vaivém (Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil), Vexoá: we know (Pinacoteca) and Moquém_Surarî: contemporary indigenous art (MAM-SP). With a participatory and collaborative approach, MAHKU disseminates the millennia-old knowledge of the Huni Kuin and draws attention to an ongoing history of oppression, exclusion and displacement of the indigenous people.

View of the exhibition
View of the exhibition

Credits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
MAHKU, Cleiber Bane, Nai Mapu Yubeka, 170 x 280 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2022
MAHKU, Cleiber Bane, Nai Mapu Yubeka, 170 x 280 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2022

Credits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
View of the exhibition
View of the exhibition

Credits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
View of the exhibition
View of the exhibition

Credits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
1/6
PARTNERS
logo-UQAM-departement-histoire-art-interne.jpg
Logo journées de la culture.png
Logo CG Montreal (Pt).png
UQAM_faculté des arts.jpeg
SMQ_Logo_couleur.png
CALQ.png
CAC_LogoNoir_300ppi.jpeg
Logos table ronde.jpg
bottom of page

MAHKU_Visuel exposition_26.08.22.png

Œuvre: Pedro Maná (MAHKU),Txain,Txai (Beau-frère, beau-frère), acrylique sur toile. 2021

ÉVÉNEMENTS

Art et récupération territoriale

Table ronde 

Samedi, 3 septembre, 15h30 à 17h

Vernissage

Samedi, 3 septembre, 17h30 à 19h

Rencontre avec le commissaire

Samedi, 1er octobre, de 15h30 à 16h30

Daniel Dinato, co-commissaire-txai de l’exposition sera présent à la galerie pour accueillir et échanger avec le public

À PROPOS DE L'EXPOSITION

 

‘’…La musique est la vie, le nixi pae (ayahuasca) est la vie. La peinture est vivante dans le musée, dans la galerie, dans les maisons des gens, elle vit avec nous. La peinture est donc la vie.

 

La peinture est aussi notre arme. C'est-à-dire que c'est notre produit, notre production, tout comme la musique. C'est nous qui le produisons. Donc c'est ça, vends la peinture, achète des terres. Vends la peinture, achète une maison. Vends la peinture, achète un moteur. Vends la peinture, achète de la nourriture, des vêtements, des médicaments. Vends la peinture et aide des proches.

La toile/peinture reste vivante comme ça…. ‘’

          Ibã Huni Kuin, 10 juin 2022 

Pour le peuple Huni Kuin, une communauté d’environ 14,000 individus vivant dans l’État d’Acres au Brésil et au Pérou, prendre soin de la planète, c’est prendre soin du nixi pae (ayahuasca). La protection de l’ayahuasca est, en d’autres termes, intrinsèquement liée à la protection des forêts, rivières, terres et de l’existence tant physique, spirituelle et intellectuelle des Huni Kuins. C’est par le rituel de l’ayahuasca que la communauté accède à un espace-temps mythique à la rencontre du passé, présent et futur correspondant à un nombre infini de yuxin, des êtres indirectement visibles. Protéger l’ayahuasca, c’est protéger les conditions nécessaires à l’existence Huni Kuin. 

 

MAHKU (Movimento dos Artistas Huni Kuin), un collectif d’artistes et chercheureuses Huni Kuin, veille à la sauvegarde et au renouvellement de leurs savoirs et terres ancestrales par l’entremise d’une pratique artistique contemporaine depuis maintenant dix ans. Le collectif crée des œuvres poétiques nous permettant de prendre contact avec l’ontologie relationnelle du peuple Huni Kuin en transposant les chants huni meka des cérémonies nixi pae, en peinture. MAHKU insère ses œuvres dans le marché de l’art contemporain sous la forme de murales et d’installations audiovisuelles. Ce processus, en plus d’inscrire une présence autochtone dans le milieu de l’art, permet de collecter des fonds qui sont ensuite redistribués dans la communauté par l’achat de terres, de nourriture, d’essence, de vêtements, etc.

 

Vende tela, compra terra (Vends de l’art, achète une terre) met en lumière les axes artistiques, politiques et communautaires du collectif ainsi que leur quête d’autonomie financière et territoriale. En 2014, MAHKU achète dix hectares de terres avec les fonds découlant de la vente d’une toile. Sur ces terres, iels établissent le Centre Indépendant MAHKU, un centre de recherche, d’expérimentation artistique et de préservation de la forêt et du savoir Huni Kuin. Ce geste inspire aujourd’hui le titre de l’exposition.

 

Fondé en 2012, MAHKU était à l’origine l’extension d’une recherche intergénérationnelle sur les chants huni meka par Ibã Huni Kuin, fondateur, chercheur et artiste, réalisée en tandem avec son père Tuni Huni Kuin et son fils Bane Huni Kuin. Au début des années 80, Ibã Huni Kuin commence à documenter les chants de son père et de ses oncles, devenant lui-même txana, maître des chants. Vingt ans plus tard, son fils Bane entreprend de transposer ces chants en images, une technique de mémorisation et de visualisation de leur trame narrative non linéaire. Par la peinture, les artistes de MAHKU traduisent les différents sens de l’huni meka, offrant au public un aperçu des mirações, visions induites par l’ingestion de l’ayahuasca et l’écoute des chants.

 

L’exposition regroupe des peintures, des dessins, des objets, de la documentation juridique et des enregistrements audiovisuels qui attestent de la complexité des revendications d’autonomie politique, culturelle et écologique de MAHKU et de leur utilisation de l’art comme pratique militante. Les gestes posés par MAHKU vont de pair avec les diverses mobilisations socio-politiques mises en branle par les communautés autochtones des Amériques pour le respect de leurs droits ancestraux et leur combat pour la justice environnementale. 


L’exposition est une matérialisation du processus collectif entre collaborateurs autochtones et allochtones, soit Ibã Huni Kuin, co-commissaire et Daniel Dinato, co-commissaire-txai, Pedro Maná, Cleiber Bane, Acelino Tuin, and Kássia Borges, artistes de MAHKU et l’équipe-txai de la SBC galerie d’art contemporain. Ce partenariat s'étend sur les recherches de MAHKU et de Daniel sur le concept de txai voulant dire beau-frère/belle-sœur en hantxa kuin, langue Huni Kuin comme une façon de souligner un lien de parenté qui rallie une pratique de collaboration artistique à long terme basée sur les affinités et les différences.

LES ARTISTES

 

La peinture, principale production artistique de MAHKU, est née en 2012 du besoin de faire revivre des savoirs collectifs en voie de disparition, et consiste à traduire en images les chants huni meka, les chants qui guident les rituels d'ayahuasca, et certains mythes. Guidés par Ibã Huni Kuin, les artistes transforment et créent des ponts avec les allochtones à travers des peintures, des murales, des dessins et des installations tout en construisant des alliances et des stratégies d'autonomie.

Actuellement, les œuvres du collectif font partie de la collection du Musée d'art de São Paulo (MASP) de la Pinacothèque de l'État de São Paulo et de la Fondation Cartier, à Paris. Parmi les expositions auxquelles ils ont participé, citons Histoires de Voir (Fondation Cartier), Les Vivants (Fondation Cartier/Lille 3000), Mestizo Stories (Institut Tomie Ohtake), 35ème Panorama de l’art Brésilien: Brésil en multiplication (MAM-SP), Avenida Paulista (MASP), Vaivém (Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil), Vexoá: we know (Pinacoteca) et Moquém_Surarî: art contemporain autochtone (MAM-SP). Ainsi, grâce à une approche participative et collaborative, MAHKU diffuse les connaissances millénaires des Huni Kuin et attire l’attention sur une histoire continue d’oppression, d’exclusion et de déplacement des populations autochtones. 

LES COMMISSAIRES
Daniel + Ibâ .jpeg

Ibã Huni Kuin, artiste, commissaire et fondateur du MAHKU

Ibã Huni Kuin (1964) est un artiste, un chercheur et un txana, un expert des chants. Dans les années 1980, il a commencé des recherches avec son père, Tuin, et ses oncles pour faire revivre les chants huni meka et la langue hanxta kuin, la langue des Huni Kuin. C'est dans ce cadre de la recherche qu'il fonde en 2012, avec son fils Bane, MAHKU.

Ibã est également un activiste qui se bat pour l’affirmation de la culture des Huni Kuin et pour le renforcement de leur autonomie économique et politique. Cette politique d’affirmation passe par une stratégie d’alliances avec les autres groupes autochtones, mais également avec des txai (des alliés non autochtones). C’est dans ce contexte que Ibã Huni Kuin, en collaboration avec Daniel Dinato, a eu l’idée d’une exposition à l’extérieur du Brésil, qui permettrait à sa communauté de tisser des liens nouveaux.

 

Daniel Dinato, commissaire et anthropologue

Daniel Dinato (1990) a une formation en anthropologie sociale et en études curatoriales. Il effectue des recherches et travaille en collaboration avec le collectif MAHKU depuis 2016.  Il est resté très proche des artistes du collectif depuis ce temps, surtout d’Ibã, avec lequel il a conçu le projet d’exposition « MAHKU  - Vende tela, compra terra ».  Il est actuellement doctorant à l'Université du Québec à Montréal, où il développe, en collaboration avec MAHKU, le concept de commissaire-txai, une pratique curatoriale à long terme fondée sur les affinités et la différence. Il est membre du Centre interuniversitaire d’études et de recherches autochtones (CIÉRA) et du Groupe de recherche interdisciplinaire sur les affirmations autochtones contemporaines (GRIAAC).  

Vue d'exposition
Vue d'exposition

Crédits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
MAHKU, Cleiber Bane, Nai Mapu Yubeka, 170 x 280 cm, acrylique sur toile, 2022
MAHKU, Cleiber Bane, Nai Mapu Yubeka, 170 x 280 cm, acrylique sur toile, 2022

Crédits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
Vue d'exposition
Vue d'exposition

Crédits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
Vue d'exposition
Vue d'exposition

Crédits: Freddy Arciniegas

press to zoom
1/6
PARTENAIRES
Logo CG Montreal (Pt).png
UQAM_faculté des arts.jpeg
logo-UQAM-departement-histoire-art-interne.jpg
SMQ_Logo_couleur.png

Partenaires de la table ronde:

Logos table ronde.jpg
Logo journées de la culture.png