top of page

Title. Double click me.

Saturday, April 7

 

12 – 1:30pm

Saturday Brunch

Hosted by Sahar Te, Hera Chan and Thy Anne Chu Quang

Offered by People’s Potato

 

Join us for brunch to discuss with artists and curators the other half of Common Aliens 2018, Whispers That Got Away, a group exhibition at SBC Gallery! Food, coffee, and tea will be provided. Feel free to bring anything to add to the bounty, including your own dishes.

 

 

 

2 - 3:45pm

Workshop – Open Mic

Hosted by Tatyana Olal

 

Rarely do we allow others to see our works-in-progress, nor do we see theirs. The objective of this workshop is to celebrate the process of the unfinished product. It is an opportunity to share creative work that isn’t ready or meant to see the light of day.

 

Participants are asked to bring their projects that are un-finished/un-published/rejected/not intended for distribution. The space is primarily intended as an opportunity to present raw material. If desired, feedback will be available. If not, even better! We intend to celebrate the unbounded nature of our creative strategies. This workshop will begin with a discussion, and then space will be open to the participants to put forward their work.

 

-

 

Tatyana Olal is a Montreal-based multidisciplinary artist, performer, and producer whose work focuses on identity, labour, and Blackness, explored through the lens of comedic performance. She has performed and been featured at Montreal Monochrome Festival, OFF-JFL, Montreal SketchFest, MoMA PopRally, and has collaborated with numerous artists and organizations including Madelyn Beckles, Collective Culture Montreal, DJ Mauser, and Tranna Wintour. Tatyana also currently works in the arts as an administrator at Envision Management and Production and Arbutus Records.

 

 

 

4 - 5:45pm

Panel– Is This A Joke To You? Memes and Identification in the Black Diaspora

Kalale Dalton-Lutale and Cason Sharpe in conversation with Tatyana Olal

 

“Blackness is the living tissue of memes,” writes Laur M. Jackson.

 

Laughter reaches its most healing when it produces moments of identification. We laugh because we have found something that is true, and within that truth, a plethora of experiences and emotions are excavated which connect people to one another.

 

Amongst the Black diaspora, the internet and more specifically memes, are a locus of identification. Memes become vessels that house language, which in turn house communities. This panel will look to map these communities, and consider who is entitled to access the culture and language that is birthed from them.

 

We will ask, is it worth drawing boundaries at all? What do we feel is owed when our communities are infiltrated, when our culture is co-opted? What do we feel entitled to? Who is laughing, and what do they find funny?

 

-

 

Kalale Dalton-Lutale is a writer, performer and playwright from Toronto. She has performed in Pervers/Cité, Montreal MonoChrome, Playwrights Workshop Montréal’s Young Creators Unit Showcase and KillJoy’s Kastle: A Lesbian Feminist Haunted House in Toronto and Los Angeles. Her play Pinky Swear will be apart of the 2017/18 season of Geordie Productions. Follow her on Instagram @fwenchfwiez.

 

Cason Sharpe is a writer born and raised in Toronto and currently living in Montreal. His work has appeared in Canadian Art, C Magazine, and GUTS Canadian Feminist Magazine, among others. His first collection of short stories, Our Lady of Perpetual Realness, was released by Metatron in 2017.

 

 

 

6:30 - 8:30pm
Performances 

inter-being by wyïsya   

Jetsam by Kaie Kellough

 

inter-being is an interactive ritual involving chant, prayer, presence and embodiment in sculpture. Focused, slow-paced and robust physique-wise, chant ranging from gribble to animalesque to melodic loops to cathartic choruses. Verging with harmonies and dissonances.

 

We will invite the surrounding audience to join their voices in a collective drone force, encouraging intuition and honesty. By an act of grace and integrity, we continue to touch the ancient knots of oppression that are the karmic ripples of ignored suffering. We transmute shame into belonging.

 

Jetsam is an electronic narrative installation that oscillates between the Caribbean, South America, and Canada. It uses text, recorded voice, field recordings from the Caribbean, and electronic sound.

 

-

 

Shahir Omar-Qrishnaswamy is a multi-disciplinary artist currently facilitating meditation, dance, and singing workshops for newly arrived refugee youth. In this life, Shahir is a diasporic, queer trans person of South Asian descent who grew up between Mississauga and Malawi. She has an honours degree in Film and Cultural Studies from McGill University. Her creative philosophies are rooted in Dhamma, animism, and compassionate eco-social justice.


Kaie Kellough is a poet, novelist, and sound performer. His most recent novel is Accordéon, published in 2016. His writing and performances have appeared internationally, and he is currently at work on further poetry and fiction.

 

 

 

Sunday, April 8

 

12 – 1:30pm

Sunday Brunch

Hosted by Joeun Aatchim, Yen-Chao Lin and Kate Whiteway

Offered by People’s Potato

 

Join us for brunch to discuss with artists and curators the other half of Common Aliens 2018, Whispers That Got Away, a group exhibition at SBC Gallery! Food, coffee, and tea will be provided. Feel free to bring anything to add to the bounty, including your own dishes.

 

 

 

2 - 3:45pm

Workshop – Womb Cxre: Whispers

Facilitated by Be Heintzman Hope

 

In tandem with Common Aliens’ interest in Relief Theory and Atelier Céladon’s writings on whispers as a diasporic mode of communication, Be Heintzman Hope offers a workshop in breath and movement.

 

Breath happens without being asked, it simply is, and yet is changing all of the time. The breath carries laughter, words, screams, memory and much more. Womb Cxre works with the philosophy that the body carries many voices inside, the voices of one’s own and the voices that have landed on our bodies. Whispers offers an embodied approach to look at how these voices inhabit us.

 

Through breath, we will research how the body is influenced by others. This is an invitation to reflect upon the ripple effect of micro embodiments, keeping in mind the contextual macro effect of colonial and diasporic presence on Tio'tia:ke. Participants will first be guided through gentle breathing exercises before moving into partner work that will stimulate wider discussions on embodied history, ancestry and future imaginaries.

 

This workshop prioritises racialized people and has a limited capacity. Please register in advance by emailing info@atelierceladon.com.

 

-

 

Be Heintzman Hope is a facilitation artist, community builder, dancer, dj and performer based in Tio'tia:ke. They are a descendant of the first Chinese immigrants to arrive in so-called “Canada” to work on the railroad, and hold German and Scottish blood as part of their ancestry and inherited occupancy of Indigenous land. For Be, creation is healing and inextricable from mental health. Their work is trauma informed, based in play, pleasure and the belief that laughing everyday is an achievable goal.

 

 

 

5 - 6pm
Comedy performance - Pressure Valves

Featuring Alo Azimov, Sehar Manji and Sara Meleika

 

Pressure Valves is a series of performances by comedians intended to dissect their practice. It is joke-telling about joke-making. Performers will explore how comedy serves both the comedian and the audience, how care is communicated through humour, and what it means to tell the same joke for the second, third, and hundredth time.

 

-

 

Born and raised in Nairobi, Sehar Manji is now a Montreal-based improviser, actor, writer, teacher and comedienne. She was trained in short-form and long-form improv at the Montreal Improv Theatre for 6 years, where she was also a member of their house teams Night Bus and Helmüt. She performs regularly onstage around the city and is a core cast member of Colour Outside The Lines, an improv show celebrating diversity within Montreal’s improv community. She has appeared in local festivals (MPROV, Montreal Sketchfest, Ladyfest, Fringe, OFF-JFL) and has also performed in Toronto (The Big City Improv Festival and JFL42), New York (The Del Close Marathon) and was invited to be a part of the International Ensemble at the Vancouver International Improv Festival for the past two years!

 

Sara Meleika is an Egyptian improviser, storyteller, and high-school teacher. She produces and performs in Colour Outside the Lines – a show dedicated to uplifting diverse voices, which has been highlighted in the Montreal Gazette and Cult Montreal. Sara was also a co-producer of the 2017 edition of Ladyfest Montreal, a festival celebrating female & women centered comedy! She is now very enthused to be the English Inclusion Coordinator at Montreal Improv.

 

Alo Azimov is a comedian who loves sketch, improv, stand-up & storytelling, with props & puns never too far behind! Alo is non-binary & their pronouns are they/them. Alo lives in Montreal, and has performed in Montreal Sketchfest, Pride Montreal, Ladyfest, Off-Fringe, in Zoofest & OFF JFL. Alo hosts & co-produces "Stand-up Story Slam", a comedic storytelling show. Alo studied biology for years & now they focus on the arts!

dimanche brunch
inter-etre
Lutale and Sharpe
Is this a joke
Olal bio
Open Mic
Brunch
kellough bio
Womb Cxre
Hope
Pression
bottom of page

Title. Double click me.

Samedi 7 avril


12h–13h30

Brunch du samedi

Servi par Sahar Te, Hera Chan et Thy Anne Chu Quang

Offer par People’s Potato

 

Rejoignez-nous pour un brunch le samedi et le dimanche pour discuter avec les artistes et les commissaires de l’autre moitié d’Étrangers communs 2018, Les murmures qui se sont échappés, une exposition de groupe à la galerie SBC ! Nous offrirons à manger et à boire (café et thé). N’hésitez pas à amener tout ce qui vous souhaitez apporter à la table, y compris vos propres couverts.

 

 

 

14h – 15h45

Atelier – Open-Mic

Animé par Tatyana Olal

 

Il est rare qu’on laisse les autres voir nos travaux en cours, on ne voit pas les leur non plus. L’objectif de cet atelier est de célébrer le processus d’un objet inachevé. C’est une occasion de partager le travail créatif qui n’est pas prêt à voir le jour, ou n’en a pas l’intention.

 

Les participantes et participants sont invités à amener leurs projets qui sont inachevés, inédits, rejetés, ou n’ayant pas l’intention à être distribués. L’espace est principalement l’occasion de présenter du matériel brut. Si désiré, un retour commentatif sur le matériel peut être donné. Sinon, encore mieux ! Nous avons l’intention de célébrer l’immensité sans borne de nos stratégies créatives. Cet atelier s’amorcera par une discussion, puis l’espace sera ouvert aux personnes présentes pour le partage de leurs travaux.

 

-

 

Tatyana Olal est une artiste multidisciplinaire, performeuse et productrice basée à Montréal. Ses travaux sont axés sur l’identité, le travail et Blackness, explorés sous l’angle de l’humour sur scène. Elle a interprété et participé au festival Montréal Monochrome, OFF-JFL, SketchFest Montréal, MoMA PopRally, ainsi que collaboré avec plusieurs artistes et organisations, y compris Madelyn Beckles, Collective Culture Montreal, DJ Mauser, et Tranna Wintour.

 

 

 

 

16h – 17h45

Discussion

Est-ce une joke pour toi ? Les mèmes et l’identification dans la diaspora noire

Kalale Dalton-Lutale et Cason Sharpe en conversation avec Tatyana Olal

 

“Blackness est le tissu vivant des mèmes”, écrit Laur M. Jackson.

 

Le rire libère ses propriétés curatives quand il produit des moments de s’identification. Nous rions car nous avons trouvé quelque chose de vrai, et dans cette vérité, une pléthore d’expériences et d’émotions mises au jour, nous rapprochant les unes des autres.

 

Dans la diaspora noire, l’internet et en particulier les mèmes forment le locus d’identification. Les mèmes deviennent des vaisseaux accueillant le langage, qui à son tour abrite différentes communautés. Cette discussion se penchera sur ces communautés, et réfléchira sur à qui l’accès de la culture et du langage qui s’en découlent est dû.

 

Nous nous demanderons si cela vaut même la peine de dessiner ces frontières. Qu’avons nous l’impression d’être possédé lorsque nos communautés sont infiltrés, lorsque notre culture est récupérée ? À quoi avons-nous le droit ? Qui est en train de rire, et qu’est-ce qu’on trouve de drôle ?

 

-

 

Kalale Dalton-Lutale est écrivaine, interprète et dramaturge de Toronto. Elle a participé à des performances à Pervers/Cité, Montréal MonoChrome, Playwrights Workshop Montréal’s Young Creators Unit Showcase et KillJoy’s Kastle: A Lesbian Feminist Haunted House à Toronto et à Los Angeles. Sa pièce Pinky Swear fera partie de la saison 2017/18 de Geordie Productions. Suivez-la sur Instagram @fwenchfwiez.

 

Cason Sharpe, né et ayant grandi Toronto, vit actuellement à Montréal. Ses travaux ont été publié dans Canadian Art, C Magazine, et GUTS Canadian Feminist Magazine, entre autres. Son premier recueil de nouvelles, Our Lady of Perpetual Realness, a été publié par Metatron en 2017.

 

 

 

18h30 – 20h30

Performances

inter-être par wyïsya   

Jetsam par Kaie Kellough

 

inter-être est un rituel interactif mêlant le chant, la prière, la présence et l’incarnation en sculpture. Concentré, au rythme lent et avec un physique robuste, le chant variant de limnories à animalesque à des boucles mélodieuses à des refrains cathartiques. Frôlant avec les harmonies et les dissonances.

 

Nous inviterons à l’audience de rejoindre leurs voix dans un ronronnement puissant et collectif, encourageant l’intuition et la sincérité. Par un acte de grâce et d’intégrité, nous continuons à toucher les nœuds d’oppression qui sont les ondulations karmiques de souffrance ignorée. Nous transmutons la honte à un sentiment d’appartenance.

 

Jetsam is an electronic narrative installation that oscillates between the Caribbean, South America, and Canada. It uses text, recorded voice, field recordings from the Caribbean, and electronic sound.

 

-

 

Wyï est un.e artiste, nonne émergent.e et multi-disciplinaire qui pratique présence par la méditation, la danse, la sculpture au crochet et la respiration consciente. Les philosophies de Wyï s’enracinent dans les traditions animistes qu’elle touche avec des rituels de mise en corps. Elle puise dans une éthique de la bienveillance comme motivation à faire mouvement. Dans cette vie, Wyï est une humaine pangenre, née dans un contexte culturel colonial franco-québecois. Elle descend d’ancestralités fluviales et sylvestres, ainsi que de parentés issues d’Europe occidentale, ibérique et scandinave. Elle est née sur les rives au nord de l’île de Tio'tia:ke / Montréal où elle réside maintenant, en territoire non-cédé, kanien'kehá:ka.

 

Kaie Kellough est un poète, un romancier et un interprète de son. Son plus récent roman, publié en 2016, s’intitule Accordéon. Ses écrits et ses performances ont été présentés à l’internationale, et il travaille actuellement sur les confins de la poésie et la fiction.

 

 

 

dimanche 8 avril

 

12h – 13h30

Brunch du dimanche

Servi par Joeun Aatchim, Yen-Chao Lin et Kate Whiteway

Offert par People’s Potato

 

Rejoignez-nous pour un brunch le samedi et le dimanche pour discuter avec les artistes et les commissaires de l’autre moitié d’Étrangers communs 2018, Les murmures qui se sont échappés, une exposition de groupe à la galerie SBC ! Nous offrirons à manger et à boire (café et thé). N’hésitez pas à amener tout ce qui vous souhaitez apporter à la table, y compris vos propres couverts.

 

 

 

14h – 15h45

Atelier – Womb Cxre: Chuchotements

Facilité par Be Heintzman Hope 

 

En tandem avec l’intérêt des Étrangers communs pour le Phénomène de la détente, ainsi que les écrits d’Atelier Céladon sur les murmures comme méthode de communication diasporique, Be Heintzman Hope offre un atelier sur le souffle et le mouvement.

 

Le souffle se produit sans qu’on le demande. Il est, tout simplement, et pourtant il change en tout temps. Le souffle porte le rire, les mots, les cris, la mémoire, et plus encore. Womb Cxre travaille avec la philosophie que le corps porte plusieurs voix, celles qui sont les nôtres et celles qui ont atterri sur nos corps. Chuchotements offre une approche incorporée se penchant sur comment ces voix nous habitent.

 

À travers le souffle, nous nous informerons sur comment le corps est influencé par les autres. Cet atelier est une invitation à réfléchir sur l’effet ondulatoire des micro-manifestations du corps comme des pierres dans l’eau, tout en gardant à l’esprit le macro-contexte des présences coloniales et diasporiques sur Tio'tia:ke. Les participantes et participants seront guidés à travers des exercices de respiration douce, suivis d’activités de groupe qui stimuleront des discussions plus vastes sur l’histoire, les ancêtres et les imaginaires futurs que nous incarnons.

 

-

 

Be Heintzman Hope est artiste facilitatrice·eur, organisatrice·eur communautaire, danseuse·eur, dj et interprète basé à Tio'tia:ke. El est descendant des premiers immigrants chinois arrivés sur le prétendu “Canada” pour travailler sur les chemins de fer, et el détient du sang allemand et écossais de son ascendance et son occupation héritée des terres autochtones. Pour Be, la création est une guérison qui est inextricable à la santé mentale. Son travail est informé sur le trauma, fondé sur le jeu, le plaisir et la confiance que rire tous les jours est un objectif réalisable.

 

 

 

17h – 18h

Humour – Soupapes de pression

À l’affiche : Alo Azimov, Sehar Manji et Sara Meleika

 

Les Soupapes de pression est une série de performances par des humoristes cherchant à disséquer leur pratique. C’est faire des jokes sur faire des jokes. Les interprètes exploreront comment l’humour sert à la fois à l’humoriste et à l’audience, comment prendre soin de soi et des autres à travers l’humour, et ce que signifie de dire une même joke pour la deuxième, troisième et quatrième fois.