Week 1
October 6 - 12

Stills from: (1) Cherán by Victor Arroyo, Mexico, Color, Stereo, HD, 70 mins., 2021.

press to zoom

Images tirées de Cherán par Victor Arroyo, Mexique, long métrage documentaire HD, couleur, son stéréo, 70 min., 2021

press to zoom

Images tirées de Cherán par Victor Arroyo, Mexique, long métrage documentaire HD, couleur, son stéréo, 70 min., 2021

press to zoom

Stills from: (1) Cherán by Victor Arroyo, Mexico, Color, Stereo, HD, 70 mins., 2021.

press to zoom
1/3
Cherán (2021)

Directed by Victor Arroyo
Mexico, Color, Stereo, HD, 70 mins., 2021

Film in Spanish with English subtitles 

A quiet revolution is taking place in the P’urhépecha forest of Michoacan in Mexico. The 2011 P’urhépecha uprising in Cherán battled against illegal logging, narco-cartels, and various forms of extraction. Cherán is the first autonomous Indigenous community with a system of governance built on P’urhépecha traditions, officially recognized by the Mexican state. The Indigenous P’urhépecha are ancestral victims of state power and colonial forms of governance woven with violent disparities of race, class and geography.

Following the tradition of cinema vérité, this documentary responds to the rhythms and textures of lived experience by Indigenous activists in Cherán. Through careful observation of their everyday life, this ethnographic study weaves in various geographies and rural environments, from campesinos and local activists to indigenous local militia. Lingering between cinema vérité and ethnography, this documentary emphasizes rural space and the forest as sets of relationships, where various P’urhépecha forms of activism distribute in the landscape in ways we may not always see.

The event is free of charge. To register, please send an email to rsvp@sbcgallery.ca with the name of the film or films you wish to see. You will receive a link to access the film on the date of the event.

Visual_Podcast Week 1.jpeg
00:00 / 39:35

This first episode features two conversations: a first one between curator Michele Fiedler Fuentes and Victor Arroyo, followed by a reading of a conversation between Victor Arroyo and Tatá Meche, translated into English and narrated by Victor himself. 

 

Victor Arroyo (born in Mexico, lives in Montreal, CA) is a video artist working in the cross field between cinema and contemporary art.

His work is research-driven, instigated by various modes of listening and seeing, emerging from long periods of observation and documentation, and articulated across installation, video and cinema. His research seeks to examine the specificity and geopolitics of place, exploring the possibilities laying dormant between ethnographic research, academic writing and artistic practice. His work has been shown at the Canadian Centre for Architecture CCA, Sheffield Doc/Fest, Kasseler Dokfest, BIENALSUR International Biennial of Contemporary Art of the South, Cinemateca do Museu de Arte Moderna do Rio de Janeiro, Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Rencontres Internationales du Documentaire Montréal RIDM, Japan Media Arts Festival, Cinémathèque Québécoise, Santa Fe International New Media Festival among others.

José Merced Velazquez, better known as Tatá Meche, was born and lives in Cherán, Michoacan, Mexico. He is a long time activist and cultural worker with a long political career in the public sector. Tatá Meche is a member of the Carriers of the New Purhépecha Fire of Cherán and served as a main advisor for the first Concejo Mayor de Gobierno Comunal back in 2014. He previously worked for the Secretaria de Los Pueblos Indígenas, a federal agency destined to support and empower Indigenous peoples in their communities, and he currently coordinates the Centro de Documentacion y Estudios del Pueblo Purhépecha.

 Week 1__EXTRA_Instragram_Podcasts_An Exhaling_1.jpg
00:00 / 10:18

Podcast extra : For Your Chains and Your Sheath, for Your Porcelaine Chest

 

We invite you to join us and Colombian Canadian artist, Helena Martin Franco in the reading of her piece: For your Chains and your sheath, for your porcelaine chest. 

Subtitled: Corazón Desfasado's jaculatory prayer for multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, visual and media artists, and more. 

Year: 2021

Duration: Audio version in french 4min16 / Multilingual version 5min22

 

Prayer reading: Helena Martín Franco, Google Translate.

Background music: Agnus Vibrateur, Corazón Desfasado, 2019.

Images: 

1. Adivinación, 2014, Digital photo performance, selfie. 

2. DE LA VIERGE DU LAIT À LA SŒUR EN SOI-MÊME.
Corazón Desfasado; de la virgen de la leche a la hermana en sí, 2005

Photo credit: Ramez El Hajj 

3. Icono 9.99, cuerpo inmaculado, 2004-2005

From the series« Faites trois souhaits »

Digital photo. 

Helena Martín Franco, born in Colombia and living in Tiotiá: ke/Montréal since 1998, has an interdisciplinary practice that explores the interbreeding of different artistic processes and the hybridization between traditional techniques and new technologies. She produced the audio piece Pour tes chaînes et ta gaine, pour ta poitrine en porcelaine (For your chains and your sheath, for your porcelain chest), a prayer by Corazón Desfasado for visual and media artists, multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary and more,  as a commission for this program.

Semaine 1
6 - 12 octobre

Images tirées de : Cherán par Victor Arroyo, Mexique, long métrage documentaire HD, couleur, son stéréo, 70 min., 2021

press to zoom

Images tirées de Cherán par Victor Arroyo, Mexique, long métrage documentaire HD, couleur, son stéréo, 70 min., 2021

press to zoom

Images tirées de Cherán par Victor Arroyo, Mexique, long métrage documentaire HD, couleur, son stéréo, 70 min., 2021

press to zoom

Images tirées de : Cherán par Victor Arroyo, Mexique, long métrage documentaire HD, couleur, son stéréo, 70 min., 2021

press to zoom
1/3
Cherán (2021)

Réalisé par Victor Arroyo
Mexique, Couleur, Stéréo, HD, 70 mins., 2021

Film en espagnol avec sous-titres en anglais

Une révolution tranquille se déroule dans la forêt P'urhépecha du Michoacan au Mexique. En 2011, les communautés P'urhépecha à Cherán se soulèvent face à l'exploitation forestière illégale, aux narco-cartels et à diverses formes d'extraction. Ces communautés autochtones sont les victimes ancestrales du pouvoir de l'État et des formes coloniales de gouvernance tissées de violentes disparités de race, de classe et de géographies. À la suite des événements de 2011, Cherán devient la première communauté autochtone autonome dotée d'un système de gouvernance fondé sur les traditions P'urhépecha, officiellement reconnue par l'État mexicain. 

S'inscrivant dans la tradition du cinéma vérité, ce documentaire reflète les rythmes et les textures de l'expérience vécue par les militants autochtones de Cherán. À travers l'observation attentive de leur quotidien, cette étude ethnographique tisse des liens avec diverses géographies et environnements ruraux, des campesinos et activistes locaux aux milices locales autochtones. Entre cinéma vérité et ethnographie, ce documentaire met en lumière l'espace rural et la forêt en tant qu'ensembles de relations, où diverses formes d'activisme P'urhépecha se déploient dans le paysage de façon novatrice.


L'événement est gratuit. Pour vous inscrire, veuillez envoyer un courriel à rsvp@sbcgallery.ca en indiquant le nom du ou des films que vous souhaitez visionner. Vous recevrez un lien pour accéder au film le jour de l'événement.

Visual_Podcast Week 1.jpeg
00:00 / 39:35

Cet épisode présente deux conversations : une première entre la curatrice Michele Fiedler Fuentes et Victor Arroyo, suivie de la lecture d'une conversation entre Victor Arroyo et Tatá Meche, traduite en anglais et racontée par Victor lui-même. 

 

Victor Arroyo (né au Mexique et établi à Montréal) est un artiste vidéo qui travaille à la croisée du cinéma et de l'art contemporain. S’articulant autour de l'installation, de la vidéo et du cinéma, son travail se base sur une recherche qu'il mène par divers modes d'écoute et de vision, issu de longues périodes d'observation et de documentation. Sa recherche vise à examiner la spécificité et la géopolitique du lieu, en explorant les pistes qui se trouvent entre le sommeil, la recherche ethnographique, l'écriture universitaire et la pratique artistique. Son travail a été présenté au Centre Canadien d'Architecture, au Sheffield Doc/Fest, au Kasseler Dokfest, à la Biennale Internationale d'Art Contemporain du Sud, à la Cinemateca do Museu de Arte Moderna do Rio de Janeiro, à la galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, aux Rencontres Internationales du Documentaire de Montréal, au Japan Media Arts Festival, à la Cinémathèque Québécoise et au International New Media Festiva de Santa Fe.

 

José Merced Velazquez, mieux connu sous le nom de Tatá Meche, est né et vit à Cherán, dans l’État de Michoacan, au Mexique. Il est un activiste de longue date et un travailleur culturel du secteur public à la longue carrière politique. Tatá Meche est membre des Carriers of the New Purhépecha Fire de Cherán et a servi de conseiller principal pour le premier Concejo Mayor de Gobierno Comunal, en 2014. Il a auparavant travaillé pour le Secretaria de Los Pueblos Indígenas, une organisation fédérale destinée à soutenir et à encourager les communautés autochtones. Il coordonne présentement le Centro de Documentacion y Estudios del Pueblo Purhépecha.

 Week 1__EXTRA_Instragram_Podcasts_An Exhaling_1.jpg
00:00 / 10:18

Podcast extra : Pour tes chaînes et ta gaine, pour ta poitrine en porcelaine

 

Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous et à l'artiste canadienne d'origine colombienne, Helena Martin Franco, pour la lecture de son œuvre.

Sous-titré: Oraison jaculatoire de Corazón Desfasado pour les artistes en arts visuels et médiatiques, multidisciplinaires, interdisciplinaires et plus. 

Année : 2021

Durée : Audio version en française 4min16 / Audio version multilingue 5min22

 

Lecture de la prière : Helena Martin Franco, Google Translate.

Musique de fond : Agnus Vibrateur, Corazón Desfasado, 2019.

Images: 

1. Adivinación, 2014, Photo performance numérique, selfie. 

2. DE LA VIERGE DU LAIT À LA SŒUR EN SOI-MÊME.
Corazón Desfasado; de la virgen de la leche a la hermana en sí, 2005

Crédit photo: Ramez El Hajj 

3. Icono 9.99, cuerpo inmaculado, 2004-2005

De la série « Faites trois souhaits »

Photo numérique.

Helena Martín Franco est née en Colombie et vit et travaille à Tiohtiá:ke/Montréal depuis 1998. Sa pratique interdisciplinaire explore le métissage de différents procédés artistiques et l’hybridation entre des techniques traditionnelles et de nouvelles technologies. Helena crée des autofictions où elle explore la perméabilité et les frontières entre les identités culturelles, nationales et de genre. Ses propositions artistiques participent au dialogue au sujet de la violence sexiste, de l’immigration et de la censure artistique. Dans une perspective féministe, elle tisse des liens entre des collectifs et des organismes culturels afin de favoriser des rencontres et des échanges de pratiques artistiques, notamment entre le Canada et la Colombie. Elle est fondatrice de L'Araignée, un collectif de diffusion d'art actuel; La Redhada, Red de mujeres artistas del Caribe colombiano; CAVCA, Comunidad de artistas visuales de Cartagena y Bolívar; et Las meninas emputás!, un collectif activiste anti-colonial carthaginois. 

 

Titulaire d’une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, son travail a été présenté en République dominicaine, en Lituanie, en Espagne, en Nouvelle-Zélande, en Colombie, en Bosnie-Herzégovine, en Iran, en Argentine, à Cuba et au Canada.