U N D E R  THE RAIN OF  O T H E R S

Screen Shot 2022-10-17 at 12.55.51 PM.png

Artwork: Vlakplaas: 2 June 1999 (drive-by shooting), video 2:40 min. 1999

EVENTS

 

Roundtable:

Transforming the Postcards of Memory

Wedneday November 2 from 1:00 to 2:30 pm

At the 4TH SPACE: J.W. McConnell Building
1400 De Maisonneuve West.

 

Opening night & activation of

80 bullets in the Wing by Pablo Gershanik

Friday November 4

Opening: 5pm tp 8pm.  Activation: 6pm tp 7pm

CURATORS

 

The exhibition is collectively curated by the SBC team (Nuria Carton de Grammont, Antoine Bertron, Carla Rangel, Samuel Lebel Gagnon) & Olivia Southcott, recipient of the 2022 Elspeth McConnell Award for Fine Arts from Concordia University.

The team would like to thank Flavia Hevia and Clara Goyer for their precious help.

ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

 

"I will not be ashamed of my sadness, of my nostalgia," said the Argentine poet and activist Juan Gelman, demanding justice for the disappearance of his son and daughter-in-law at the hands of agents of the dictatorship. The exhibition Under the Rain of Others is inspired by the book of the same title written by the author during his exile in Rome in 1980, which draws a fierce critique of the military regime while situating memory as a process of personal and collective reconstruction, a duty that belongs to us all.
 
What stories are we ready to tell and how are we ready to listen to them? The works of Hannah Claus, Till Roeskens, Pablo Gershanik and Jo Ractliffe share as their point of origin the post-traumatic processes from the political and spatial reconstruction of mourning from the Aboriginal feminicides in Canada, the occupation of the Palestinian territories, the dictatorial regime in Argentina and the apartheid in South Africa. Through performance, installation and video, the exhibition presents the spectral landscape of the past that haunts us unwaveringly to announce the need for awareness, for transformation. 

To capture the anachronisms of historical trauma, Gelman explains that "it is difficult to reconstruct what happened; the truth of memory fights against the memory of truth." By spatializing absence through various testimonies, images, and activations, the works return to affect from its capacities to heal and restore collective experience. But it is also a question of reconstructing the symbolic territories of memory as the symptom of a repressed knowledge that calls into question the future based on the avoidance of traumatic experiences and painful knowledge. In this way, the works gathered here are an antidote against the impulses of historical amnesia and the intimidation of silence. 

 

Under the Rain of Others probes resilience, empathy, and struggles for memory, as Elizabeth Jelin would say, from the reenactment of art narratives.

ARTISTS
Claus_portrait_1_DaynaDanger_sm.jpg
Till Roeskens_headshot.jpeg

 

Hannah Claus is a Kanienkehá:ka and English visual artist who explores Onkwehón:we epistemologies as living transversal relationships through her artistic practice. A 2019 Eiteljorg fellow and 2020 Prix Giverny recipient, current exhibitions include Radical Stitch (McKenzie Art Gallery; Regina); Whetūrangitia [Made as Stars] (Dowse Art Museum; Lower Hutt, Aotearoa); and Plastic Earth (Centre Culturelle Canadienne; Paris, France). Claus is a member of Kenhté:ke, in Ontario.

Pablo Gershanik is an actor, stage director and theatrical pedagogue graduated from the International School of Theatre Jacques Lecoq and the University of Paris-Cité. He’s also an actor for Cirque Éloize, the Philippe Genty Company and the Compagnia Finzi Pasca. Gershanik is also the creator of the Intimate Miniatures Methodology. He developed this method with his project Quatre-Vingts Balles dans l’Aile, created as part of a residency at the Haroldo Conti Cultural Center of Buenos Aires and the Centquatre in Paris, in 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Till Roeskens, born in 1974’s Germany, lives and works off the land in a collective farm located in the Crau plains, at the foot of the Alpilles mountains. Inhabited by a passion for geography, his art developed itself at the crossroads of terrestrial fragments and those who would chart their roads there. What he brought back from these explorations, whatever form these may take, was never but a simple report, but an invitation to the sight’s exercise, a quest for freedom, an attempt to situate oneself in this infinite world.


Since the 1980s, Jo Ractliffe’s photographs have reflected her ongoing preoccupation with the South African landscape and the ways it figures in the country’s imaginary, particularly the violent legacies of apartheid. In a country with a powerful tradition of social documentary, Ractliffe is known for her distinctive approach, drawing attention to the absent and unseen, alluding to traces of meaning beyond the evidentiary.

Pablo Gershanik I.JPG
Jo Ractliffe_2019_C.jpg
EXHIBITION COMPLEMENTS

 

Learn more about the artists, their artwork or their practice by consulting the following complementing articles, interviews and essays:

 

Nicole Acheampong, A Photographer Traces the Ghosts of Loss and Trauma in Southern Africa, Aperture, December 3 2021

 

Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, Artists Talk: Israel/Palestine. An Interview with Till Roeskens, Words Without Borders, November 4 2010

PARTNERS
4th-Space-graphic-ENG-BLK.png
Concordia logo-compact-CMYK.jpeg

S O U S   LA  PLUIE  DES  A U T R E S

Screen Shot 2022-10-17 at 12.55.51 PM.png

Œuvre: Vlakplaas: 2 June 1999 (drive-by shooting), vidéo 2:40 min. 1999

ÉVÉNEMENTS

Table ronde: 

Transforming the Postcards of Memory

Mercredi 2 novembre 2022

Au 4TH SPACE, J.W. McConnell Building
1400 De Maisonneuve Ouest

Vernissage et activation de l'oeuvre

80 balles dans l'Aile par Pablo Gershanik

Vendredi 4 novembre 2022

Vernissage: 17h à 20h   Activation: 18h à 19h

À la SBC galerie d'art contemporain

COMMISSAIRES

 

Sous la pluie des autres est un commissariat collectif réalisé par l’équipe de la SBC (Nuria Carton de Grammont, Antoine Bertron, Carla RangelSamuel Lebel Gagnon) et Olivia Southcott, récipiendaire du Prix Elspeth McConnell 2022 pour les beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia.

L'équipe adresse un remerciement tout particulier à Flavia Hevia et Clara Goyer pour leur aide précieuse.

 

À PROPOS DE L'EXPOSITION

 

« Je n’aurai pas honte de ma tristesse, de ma nostalgie » disait le poète et militant argentin Juan Gelman en réclamant justice face à la disparition de son fils et sa belle-fille aux mains des agents de la dictature. L'exposition Sous la pluie des autres s’inspire de l’ouvrage du même titre écrit par l’auteur lors de son exil à Rome en 1980 qui dessine une critique féroce au régime militaire tout en situant la mémoire comme un processus de reconstruction tant personnel que collectif ; un devoir qui nous appartient tous.tes.

 

Quelles histoires sommes-nous prêts à raconter et comment sommes-nous prêts à les écouter ? Les œuvres d’Hannah Claus, Till Roeskens, Pablo Gershanik et Jo Ractliffe partagent comme point d’origine les processus post-traumatiques depuis la reconstitution politique et spatiale du deuil à partir des féminicides autochtones au Canada, l’occupation des territoires palestiniens, le régime dictatorial en Argentine et l’apartheid en Afrique du Sud. Par le biais de la performance, de l’installation et de la vidéo, l’exposition présente le paysage spectral du passé qui nous hante inébranlablement pour annoncer la nécessité d’une prise de conscience, d’une transformation. 

 

Pour saisir les anachronies des traumatismes historiques, Gelman explique qu’il est « difficile de reconstituer ce qui s’est passé ; la vérité de la mémoire se bat contre la mémoire de la vérité ». En spatialisant l’absence par divers témoignages, images et activations, les œuvres font un retour sur l’affect depuis ses capacités de guérison et de restitution du vécu collectif. Mais il s’agit également de reconstruire les territoires symboliques de la mémoire comme le symptôme d’un savoir refoulé qui remet en question l’avenir fondé sur l’évitement des expériences traumatiques et des savoirs douloureux. De cette manière, les œuvres ici rassemblées sont un antidote contre les pulsions de l’amnésie historique et l’intimidation du silence. 


Sous la pluie des autres sonde la résilience, l’empathie et les luttes pour la mémoire, comme le dirait Elizabeth Jelin, depuis la reconstitution des narrativités de l’art.

LES ARTISTES
Claus_portrait_1_DaynaDanger_sm.jpg
Till Roeskens_headshot.jpeg

 

Hannah Claus est une artiste transdisciplinaire de descendance Kanienkehá:ka et anglaise qui explore les épistémologies Onkwehón:we afin de mettre en évidence des façons de comprendre et d’être en relation avec les mondes qui nous entourent. En 2019, elle reçoit le Eiteljorg fellow et en 2020 le Prix Giverny. Ses œuvres se retrouvent dans plusieurs collections à travers le monde. Elle est cofondatrice de daphne, le nouveau centre d’exposition autochtone de Montréal. Claus est aussi membre de Kenhté:ke, basé en Ontario et de la communauté Kanien’kehá:ka de Tyendinaga - Mohawks de la Baie de Quinte.

Pablo Gershanik est un acteur, metteur en scène et pédagogue théâtral diplômé de l'École internationale de théâtre Jacques Lecoq et de l'Université de Paris-Cité. Il est également acteur pour le Cirque Éloize, la Compagnie Philippe Genty et la Compagnia Finzi Pasca. Gershanik est également le créateur de la méthodologie des miniatures intimes. Il a développé cette méthode avec son projet Quatre-Vingts Balles dans l'Aile, créé dans le cadre d'une résidence au Centre culturel Haroldo Conti de Buenos Aires et au Centquatre à Paris, respectivement en 2017 et 2019.

Till Roeskens, né en Allemagne en 1974, vit et travaille la terre dans une ferme collective dans la plaine de la Crau, au pied des Alpilles. Animé par une forme de passion géographique, son art s’est développé dans la rencontre avec quelques fragments de l’espace terrestre et celles et ceux qui tentaient d’y tracer leurs chemins. Ce qu’il a ramené de ses explorations, que ce soit sous la forme d’un livre, d’un film, d’une conférence, d’un conte ou autres formes légères, ne s’est jamais voulu un simple rapport, mais une invitation à l’exercice du regard, une quête de liberté, une tentative de se situer dans l’infinie complexité du monde.

Depuis les années 80, les photographies de Jo Ractliffe reflètent ses préoccupations quant aux paysages Sud-Africains et la façon dont ceux-ci sont présentés dans l'imaginaire national, particulièrement après le violent héritage de l’apartheid. Son pays natal ayant une forte tradition de documentaire social , Ractliffe est connu pour son approche distincte mettant l’accent sur l’absent et l’invisible, faisant allusion au sens au-delà de l’évidence.

Pablo Gershanik I.JPG
Jo Ractliffe_2019_C.jpg
COMPLÉMENTS À L'EXPOSITION

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les artistes, leur oeuvre ainsi que leur pratique, voici quelques articles, essais et complémentant les contenus de l'exposition:

 

Nicole Acheampong, A Photographer Traces the Ghosts of Loss and Trauma in Southern Africa, Aperture, 3 décembre 2021

 

Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, Artists Talk: Israel/Palestine. An Interview with Till Roeskens, Words Without Borders, 4 novembre 2010

PARTENAIRES
4th-Space-graphic-ENG-BLK.png
Concordia logo-compact-CMYK.jpeg