16FEV_FGR_Heures de visite.png

EVENTS

We are so thrilled to announce that Francisco Gonzalez-Rosas the featured artist-in-residence for our Permeable Lines Residency! Please read below to learn more about Francisco and keep an eye out for what to expect over the 6 weeks of his residency on our social media pages. Welcome, Francisco! 

On behalf of Francisco and the SBC team, we would like to extend an invitation to come see Francisco’s work in the gallery! The gallery will be open to the public on March 4 and 5th from 12 PM to 5 PM and March 6th from 1PM to 6PM. We are so grateful to have this opportunity to reopen the gallery to share a collection of Francisco’s work that has greatly influenced the project he has been working on during his residency at SBC. We can’t wait to welcome you back while ensuring we all respect the safety measures currently in place.

ARTIST BIO

Currently based in Tiohtià:ke / Montréal, Francisco Gonzalez-Rosas is a performance and new media artist born in Chile. He holds a BA in Acting from Finis Terrae  University, Santiago, Chile and a Master in Fine Arts in Intermedia, from  Concordia University, Montreal. His first solo show “Techniques of the  Narcissist” was presented as a multichannel video installation at Elektra  Gallery, Montreal, in 2019. His work has been exhibited in Chile, China, Italy,  UK, Poland, Czech Republic and the US. 

ARTIST BIO

The members of the jury for the Permeable Lines residency were Dominique Fontaine (curator) and Camille Larrivée (street artist, curator).

ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

Francisco González-Rosas, Permeable Lines

Text by Benjamin Allard

 

Francisco González-Rosas’ practice explores the boundary between the digital and the physical. In his performances, technology can either act as an extension of the body (Piel), [1] or as its witness (Dating for export). [2] Throughout his works, the body is envisioned as a conduit between two universes, and technology is employed in various ways to highlight the tension between the corporeality of the artist and its representation.

 

During the Permeable Lines residency at SBC gallery, [3] González-Rosas crafted a three-dimensional model of his own body by combining more than a hundred two-dimensional images, using a method known as photogrammetry. The avatar thus created takes the idea of digital visibility to its next logical step, channeling science-fiction as the artist uploads himself into the computer. This digital model can then reproduce expressions or movements independently—it is now the machine that activates the body.

 

This avatar was created at a moment when many people were limited to a merely virtual presence. With its new residency program, which was put in place in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, SBC offers artists access to the gallery’s space while allowing them to present their work either online or in person, depending on changing health and safety guidelines. It provided an ideal context for González-Rosas to explore the “existing and speculative crossovers between the body and technology.”[4]

 

Interfaces and computer tools are an integral part of González-Rosas’ artistic vocabulary. Before the residency, he had used a 3D avatar of himself created on IMVU (performance.png[5], a platform that allows web users to craft virtual models out of a limited set of physical features. The limitations of this system overdetermined the creations of its users, reducing them to stereotypes.

 

Photogrammetry constitutes a new avenue of research for González-Rosas, one that allows him to reappropriate his own body through a hyper-realistic avatar assembled out of photographs of himself. Despite its realistic appearance, this avatar is employed to make evident the fragmented and plural aspects of our identities. For example, the camera can sometimes clip through the model [6], revealing the fictional body’s hollow interior: a grey landscape where no texture has yet been generated. By making apparent the tools that produce a realistic effect, the work reveals the illusory nature of representation.

 

As part of this process, he also studies how contemporary images are influenced by those that preceded them. Through photogrammetry, he now seeks to position himself in relation to collective memory. He notably references the works of artists who have worked on the theme of Chilean queer identity, [7] such as Pedro Lemebel’s halo of syringes. Recalling Christ’s crown of thorns, [8] this icon evokes the suffering caused by AIDS. His model is also sculpted to resemble Frida Kahlo’s painting The Two Fridas, where two representations of the artist are linked by blood transfusion. This last work was also reinterpreted by Lemebel and Francisco Casas, who gave it lasting political importance.[9]

 

González-Rosas then manipulates his representation by affirming his own body and by consciously positioning himself in relation to an artistic tradition. He uses the expression Fear of Missing Out History [10] to ironically evoke his anxious wish to inscribe himself into history, as if it were a party not to be missed. This angst is felt unequally, because people living in the margins of their society are all too often already forgotten even in their own time. The creation of virtual avatars can be one way for the body to enter the machine, and thus to coexist with the past. It can also reveal the fragility and arbitrary nature of the historical process, or reveal the structures that maintain the illusion of reality.

Benjamin J. Allard is an artist, radio producer, and educator based in Tiohtià:ke (Montréal). From 2018 to 2020, he hosted radio atelier, the cultural workers’ radio show at CIBL. His texts were published by Inter magazine, The New Gallery, and QOQQOON. He completed a BA in Communication Studies (Concordia) and an MFA in Visual Arts (UBC).

 

[1] González-Rosas, Francisco. Piel. Performance and installation. 2018. URL : https://www.franciscogonzalezrosas.com/portfolio-item/piel/

[2] González-Rosas, Francisco. Dating for Export. Video performance. 2019, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. URL : https://www.franciscogonzalezrosas.com/portfolio-item/dating-for-export/

[3] Permeable Lines (January 19 - March 6 2021). URL : https://www.sbcgallery.ca/franciscogonzalezrosas-fr?lang=en

[4] sbcgalerie. Francisco, our Artist-in-Residence… Instagram. February 2 2021. URL : https://www.instagram.com/p/CKzY-PynaSA/ Retrieved July 22 2021.

[5] González-Rosas. performance.png. Video performance, 3d animation; digital pieces. 2021, Galerie de l’UQAM. URL : https://www.franciscogonzalezrosas.com/portfolio-item/performance-png/

[6] Translator’s note: in video game parlance, the term “clipping” is used colloquially to refer to collision detection errors within the game engine that allow characters or objects to unrealistically pass through each other.

[7] Based on my conversations with the artist.

[8] For the first usage of the crown in their practice, visit Yeguas del Apocalipsis. URL : https://english.yeguasdelapocalipsis.cl/1988-crowning-of-thorns/

[9] Pedro Lemebel and Francisco Casas’ collective, Las Yeguas del Apocalipsis, was active in Chile from 1987 to 1993, under the Pinochet regime and during the transition to democracy. On the subject of the photograph and their interpretation of The Two Fridas : https://english.yeguasdelapocalipsis.cl/1989-two-fridas/, for the performance: https://english.yeguasdelapocalipsis.cl/1990-two-fridas-in-galeria-bucci/.

[10] Drawn from a text that was being written during the residency.

16FEV_FGR_Heures de visite.png

ÉVÉNEMENTS

Nous sommes ravies d'annoncer que Francisco González-Rosas est l'artiste-en-résidence de notre résidence Lignes Perméables ! Pour en savoir plus sur Francisco, veuillez lire ci-dessous et suivez nous nos redux sociaux pour accompagner Francisco aux cours des 6 semaines de sa résidence sur nos pages de médias sociaux. Bienvenue Francisco ! 

Au nom de Francisco et de l'équipe de SBC, nous aimerions vous inviter à venir voir le travail de Francisco dans la galerie ! La galerie sera ouverte au public les 4 et 5 mars de 12h à 17h et le 6 mars de 13h à 18h. Nous sommes très reconnaissantes d'avoir l'opportunité de rouvrir la galerie pour présenter une collection d'oeuvres de Francisco qui ont grandement influencé le projet sur lequel il a travaillé pendant sa résidence à SBC. Nous sommes impatientes de vous accueillir à nouveau tout en nous assurant que nous respectons tous.tes les mesures de sécurité actuellement en place.

BIO DE L'ARTISTE

Actuellement basé à Tiohtià:ke / Montréal, Francisco Gonzalez-Rosas est un artiste de la performance et des nouveaux médias né au Chili. Il est titulaire d'une licence en art dramatique de l'université Finis Terrae de Santiago du Chili et d'un master en beaux-arts inter-médias de l'université Concordia de Montréal. Sa première exposition solo "Techniques of the Narcissist" a été présentée sous forme d'installation vidéo multicanale à la galerie Elektra, à Montréal, en 2019. Son travail a été exposé au Chili, en Chine, en Italie, au Royaume-Uni, en Pologne, en République tchèque et aux États-Unis. 


La pratique de Francisco intègre des stratégies performatives dans la production de sons et d'images, la performance, la vidéo et l'installation. Les questions de représentation, de genre, de race, de sexualité, de culture numérique, d'image et de technologie sont au cœur de son travail.

À PROPOS DE L'EXPOSITION

Francisco González-Rosas, Lignes perméables

Texte de Benjamin Allard

 

La pratique de Francisco González-Rosas se déploie aux frontières des mondes physique et numérique. Des appareils techniques sont des supports pour ses performances (Piel [1]) ou encore leurs témoins (Dating for export [2]). Dans ces œuvres, le corps est un pivot entre deux univers et l’activation d’une machine place en tension la corporalité de l’artiste avec sa représentation.

 

Lors de la résidence Lignes perméables à la galerie SBC [3], González-Rosas a façonné plus d’une centaine d’images bidimensionnelles de son corps en une modélisation en trois dimensions, une méthode nommée photogrammétrie. L’avatar ainsi créé poursuit la logique de la visibilité numérique en rappelant la science-fiction, l’artiste s’exporte dans l’ordinateur. Le modèle informatique peut reproduire des expressions ou des mouvements de manière indépendante ; c’est maintenant la machine qui active le corps.

 

Cet avatar a été développé à un moment où plusieurs personnes étaient contraintes à la présence virtuelle. Avec ce nouveau programme de résidence, qui a été mis sur pied en réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, SBC offre leur espace de galerie aux artistes tout en présentant leur travail en ligne et, quand les mesures sanitaires le permettent, en présentiel. C’était un contexte propice pour González-Rosas pour explorer « les croisements existants et spéculatifs entre le corps et la technologie »[4].

 

Les interfaces et les outils informatiques font partie intégrante du vocabulaire artistique de González-Rosas. Il avait d’ailleurs déjà exploité un avatar 3D lui ressemblant sur IMVU (performance.png [5]), une plateforme proposant aux internautes une banque limitée de caractéristiques physiques pour composer des modèles virtuels. Les paramètres du système surdéterminent ces créations et les réduisent à des stéréotypes.

 

La photogrammétrie marque un nouvel axe de recherche pour González-Rosas. Elle lui permet de se réapproprier son corps puisque son avatar est modelé à partir de ses photographies et peut même être hyperréaliste. Il utilise toutefois ces images pour rendre manifeste les aspects fragmentés et pluriels de nos identités. La caméra peut, par exemple, s’introduire dans le modèle pour révéler l’intérieur creux du corps/fiction ne laissant voir qu’un paysage gris où aucune texture n’a encore été générée. En rendant apparents les outils qui produisent un effet de réalisme, l'œuvre révèle la nature illusoire de la représentation.

Dans ce processus [6], il étudie aussi comment les images sont influencées par celles qui les précèdent. Avec la photogrammétrie, il cherche maintenant à se situer dans une mémoire collective. Il reprend notamment des artistes ayant travaillé sur l’identité queer chilienne [7], comme l’auréole de seringues de Pedro Lemebel. Rappelant la couronne d’épines du Christ [8], cette icône évoque la souffrance causée par le SIDA. Son modèle est également sculpté pour ressembler à la toile Les Deux Fridas de Frida Kahlo où sont peints deux autoportraits connectés par une transfusion sanguine. C’est aussi une œuvre que Lemebel a réinterprétée avec Francisco Casas en lui laissant une charge politique persistante [9].

 

González-Rosas manipule donc simultanément ses images en affirmant son corps et en poursuivant consciemment une tradition artistique. Il utilise d’ailleurs l’expression Fear of Missing Out History [10] pour évoquer, avec ironie, une anxiété à s’inscrire dans l’histoire, comme si c’était une fête à ne pas manquer. Cette angoisse est inégalement ressentie, les personnes en marge de leur société sont déjà trop souvent oubliées à leur époque. La modélisation peut donc faire entrer un corps dans la machine et lui permettre de côtoyer le passé, elle peut aussi présenter la fragilité et l’arbitraire du processus historique ou révéler les dispositifs qui maintiennent l’illusion de réalité.

Benjamin J. Allard est un artiste, producteur radio et éducateur basé à Tiohtià:ke (Montréal). De 2018 à 2020, il a animé radio atelier, l'émission des travailleur·euse·s culturel·le·s à CIBL. Ses textes ont été publiés par le magazine Inter, The New Gallery et QOQQOON. Il détient un baccalauréat en communication (Concordia) et une maîtrise en arts visuels (UBC).

[1] González-Rosas, Francisco. Piel. Performance et installation. 2018. URL : https://www.franciscogonzalezrosas.com/portfolio-item/piel/

[2] González-Rosas, Francisco. Dating for Export. Performance vidéo. 2019, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. URL : https://www.franciscogonzalezrosas.com/portfolio-item/dating-for-export/

[3] Lignes perméables / Permeable Lines (19 janvier - 6 mars 2021). URL : https://www.sbcgallery.ca/franciscogonzalezrosas-fr

[4] sbcgalerie. Francisco, our Artist-in-Residence… Instagram. 2 février 2021. URL : https://www.instagram.com/p/CKzY-PynaSA/ Accédé le 22 juillet 2021.

[5] González-Rosas. performance.png. Performance video, animation 3D; pièces numériques. 2021, Galerie de l’UQAM. URL : https://www.franciscogonzalezrosas.com/portfolio-item/performance-png/

[6] Publiez sur les réseaux sociaux de la galerie SBC et les comptes personnels de González-Rosas.

[7] Basé sur mes conversations avec l’artiste.

[8] Premier usage de la couronne pour leur pratique, visitez le Yeguas del Apocalipsis. URL : https://english.yeguasdelapocalipsis.cl/1988-crowning-of-thorns/

[9] Le collectif de Pedro Lemebel et Francisco Casas, Las Yeguas del Apocalipsis, a été actif au Chili de 1987 à 1993, sous la dictature de Pinochet et lors de la période de « transition démocratique ». Au sujet de la photographie de leur interprétation des Deux Fridas : https://english.yeguasdelapocalipsis.cl/1989-two-fridas/, pour la performance : https://english.yeguasdelapocalipsis.cl/1990-two-fridas-in-galeria-bucci/.

[10] Tiré d’un texte en cours de réalisation pendant la résidence.