top of page
EVENTS

Opening
Thursday, January 18th 2024
From 5:30 PM to 10:00 PM

The opening of the exhibition Historye(ies) de territoire(ies) also marks the launch of issue 273 of the magazine Vie des Arts, with a special section entitled "Pratiques".

Vie des Arts Website
Add to your calendar
Facebook Event


Guided tour
with Laurence Butet-Roch
Saturday January 20th
From 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM

Add to your calendar

Collage Workshop

with Jessica Houston

Thursday, February 15

from 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm

rsvp@sbcgallery.ca

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
History(ies) of territory(ies)

18.01 - 09.03.2024



Laurence Butet-Roch
Jessica Houston

Curator: Sophie Bertrand

       History(ies) of Territory(ies) presents works by Jessica Houston and Laurence Butet-Roch. Both artists are deeply interested in environmental justice and the construction of narratives through the prism of colonial history and territorial occupation. Each examines the responsibility of visual documentation rooted in collective memory, and proposes a dialogue between archive and contemporary image in order to revise unilateral narratives and (re)think future readings of historical narratives in the light of new imaginaries.

 

       Questioning the uses of archives puts the emphasis on their constant and necessary updating, in order to revisit the wefts of history that are all too often distorted or corrupted for the benefit of a project, be it political, ethnographic, academic or anthropological. Here, artistic practices tend not to impose a point of view, but to (re)open up reflection on the function of these documentations and their role in colonial political strategies, rather than encouraging their censorship. In order to understand the disasters of the past that we must avoid for our futures, we need to extend towards "poly-narratives" in which the authority of the archive is confronted and challenged.

 

       The foundations of historical science are based on the principle of the current state of knowledge. Archives, whether textual or visual, have often been a guarantee of a truth dominated by the powers in place, often erasing the value of the transmission of oral traditions. For a long time, narratives were based on textual archives. By the end of the 19th century, photography and the moving image had also become invaluable documentation media, enhancing these same narratives. Their use created new visual links between past, present and future. Images and video were soon seen as postulates of unchanging reality. In particular, these media played an ambiguous role in the subjective perception of borders and territories through illustrations of conquests, exploits and prowess of Western man. Fortunately, in recent years, intangible cultural heritage(1) has been recognized as an essential element in the revision of History. The accessibility of this heritage has enabled us to reposition ourselves on the meaning of archives, to broaden our interpretations of them and to question them.

 

       Through their respective approaches, Laurence Butet-Roch and Jessica Houston propose to shift points of view and open up perspectives towards new narratives of territories, using the archive as a lever for reflection.

 

       Laurence Butet-Roch's installation Our Grandfathers Were Chiefs offers a dialogue between contemporary documentary photography and archival documents revealing the expansion of Ontario's Chemical Valley. For over half a century, petrochemical complexes have been built on Anishinaabek lands, forcing the Aamjiwnaang community to endure the harmful consequences on their health and landscape. To this end, a large-format topographical map of the Sarnia Indian, produced by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, locates Reserve No. 45 - consecutively called the Upper St. Clair reserve, then the Sarnia reserve, before reverting to its original name, Aamjiwnaang(2). Three distinctly coloured threads delineate the areas allocated: that of the reserve established under Treaty 29 (1827), its current area and the space occupied by the petrochemical plants. Since 1790, a succession of treaties(3) has progressively erased the extent of the Aamjiwnaang territory - which means "to the spawning stream" - further reducing its access to the banks of the St. Clair River.

 

       For nearly a decade, Laurence Butet-Roch has been working with the residents of Aamjiwnaang and its Council. By contrasting institutional archives, veritable tools of communication and promotion - like the Canadian $10 bill bearing the effigy of the Polymer Corporation - with the photographs she has produced, the artist encourages us to critically examine the archive as an object of state domination. Forced, initially, to acknowledge Canada's responsibility and the consequences of its colonial policies, she invites us to look at the community's history as well, as it unfolds here and now. The story of a daily resistance that continues to inhabit the land and actively protect its flora and fauna.

       Laurence Butet-Roch invited the younger generation to express themselves freely in two of her images. Participants translated their relationship with the elements and their vision of the future into colorful drawings drawn from their imaginations and beliefs.

       Jessica Houston's work is part of the narrative of new representations of the poles, about the history hitherto influenced by the relationship between male and white conquerors and explorers. Interested in deconstructing this dominant posture, the artist pokes fun at the imperialist symbolism involved in successive expeditions and renews theories. She takes advantage of this to reconfigure the link between man and nature in a conjuncture of the imaginary. The works on show are the result of several projects and reveal the research Jessica Houston has been carrying out for several years on the ambivalent definition of the notions of North and South Poles.

       In her collages that play with proportions, the artist uses the archives of the famous National Geographic magazine, created in 1888 in the United States, to suggest new discursive propositions. For several decades, the magazine's image producers were overwhelmingly white and male, participating in a tradition of biased visual narratives. Jessica Houston decided to break with this tradition, using geometric strategies - cutting, flat coloring, folding, montage - to fracture the image and offer a polysemy of discourses on the circumpolar regions through the composite technique. Stories of the Pole merge, and the figures of explorers Robert Peary and Roald Amundsen fade behind the artist's fictional assemblages, inspired more by Ursula K. Le Guin's ecofeminist short story "Sur"(4), which recounts how nine female explorers from South America reached the South Pole in December 1909. In this way, Jessica Houston transforms the epics of polar conquest into an alternative tale, breaking the codes of glorifying documentary imagery to form an unprecedented legacy of myth.

       Too Enlightened takes up the composite technique of collage with a mosaic that encourages the eye to rearrange the fragmented images to extract a coherent reading. The possibilities are endless. In response to this work, the video Enlightened brings the landscape and the deep time of the Antarctic ice back into focus by juxtaposing archival footage of military expeditions with an aerial view filmed by a drone. This contemplative diptych, lasting more than eighteen minutes, no longer plays on our sense of observation, and invites us to take stock of nature's resilience and resistance, in inevitable contrast to the time we no longer have in the face of global warming.

More than the end of history, it is the end of a certain modern conception of history, that of Western man's ability to govern and claim to explain the world.(5)

       The works presented in History(ies) of territory(ies) invite us to "decentralize our gaze"(6) while noting the societal impact of visual documentation on collective memory. Here, the dominant narrative mechanisms perpetuated in coveted territories highlight the unseen consequences that flow from them. The use of archives questions the process of updating and opens up the fields of possible and necessary (re)writing to refresh certain narratives, giving a voice to those entitled to it, and leaving room for collective imaginations.

Sophie Bertrand

 


1 - https://ich.unesco.org/fr/qu-est-ce-que-le-patrimoine-culturel-immateriel-00003
2 - David D. Plain, https://www.aamjiwnaang.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Aamjiwnaang-Website-Detail-Modern-History.pdf
3 - ibid.
4 - Le Guin, U.K. (1982), Sur. Published January 24 1982, New Yorker. Online. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1982/02/01/sur
5 - Sallée, F. (2019). La mécanique de l’histoire (p.42). Le Cavalier Bleu. https://doi.org/10.3917/lcb.salle.2019.01
6 - Sallée, 2019, ibid., p. 17


 

LBR_by Cole Breiland_edited.jpg
© Cole Breiland
Laurence Butet-Roch
LAURENCE BUTET-ROCH is an author, photographer and visual arts researcher whose work focuses on issues of environmental justice. Recipient of the Joseph Armand-Bombardier Award (SSHRC), she is pursuing a PhD in Environmental Studies at York University (Toronto). Her research examines the clichés used by Canadian media in their reporting on industrial pollution, using participatory and collaborative methods of analysis.
Jessica Houston
JESSICA HOUSTON's multimedia projects confront environmental justice in the polar regions, with a particular focus on deep ice time and collaboration with nature. Her work has been exhibited at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, CREA Gallery (Venice, Italy), The Arktikum Museum (Rovaniemi, Finland), Museo de Arts de Querétaro (México City) and Latimer House Museum (New York), among many other institutional and museum collections.
Jessica Houston dy Bruno Tremblay.jpg
© Bruno Tremblay
Profil SB_edited.jpg
Sophie Bertrand
SOPHIE BERTRAND is an independent photographer, author and curator. Her interests range from contemporary photography to photographic heritage. Both in her practice and in the projects she leads, she is interested in the formation of new visual narratives through the dialogue between archives and images. A regular contributor to Ciel Variable magazine, she also contributed to the book L'Histoire mondiale des femmes photographes (Textuel, Paris, 2020). With a master's degree in museology, she is also a lecturer at the Collège de photographie Marsan and assistant co-director at Vie des arts.
© Joannie Lafrenière
Partners
History(ies) of territory(ies) is part of the general theme Territory / Borders of the POST-INVISIBLES 2024 biennial.
Noir et Blanc Splashscreen-Horizontal.jpg
The SBC is pleased to welcome the launch of the new issue of Vie des arts.
LG_Vie_des_Arts_Bande_vf.png
bottom of page

top of page
ÉVÉNEMENTS

Vernissage

Jeudi 18 janvier

De 17h30 à 22h00

L'ouverture de l'exposition Histoire(s) de territoire(s) est aussi lancement du numéro 273 de la revue Vie des Arts, dont le dossier thématique est intitulé « Pratiques ».

Aller au site de Vie des Arts

Ajouter à votre agendas

Éventement Facebook

Visite guidée

En compagnie de Laurence Butet-Roch.

Samedi 20 janvier

De 14h00 à 15h00

Ajouter à votre agendas

Atelier Collage 

avec Jessica Houston

Jeudi, le 15 février 

de 17h30 à 19h30

rsvp@sbcgallery.ca

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
Histoire(s) de territoire(s)

18.01 - 09.03.2024





Laurence Butet-Roch
Jessica Houston

Commissariat: Sophie Bertrand

        Histoire(s) de territoire(s) présente les œuvres de Jessica Houston et de Laurence Butet-Roch. Les deux artistes s'intéressent de près à la justice environnementale et à la construction des récits à travers le prisme de l’histoire coloniale et des occupations de territoires. Chacune examine notamment la responsabilité de la documentation visuelle ancrée dans la mémoire collective, et proposent un dialogue entre archive et image contemporaine afin de réviser les narratifs unilatéraux et de (re)penser les lectures futures des récits historiques, à la lumière de nouveaux imaginaires.

 

        Questionner les usages des archives permet de mettre l'emphase sur la réactualisation constante et nécessaire de celles-ci, pour revoir les trames de l'Histoire trop souvent détournées ou corrompues au profit d'un projet, qu'il soit politique, ethnographique, académique ou anthropologique. Ici, les pratiques artistiques tendent non pas à imposer un point de vue, mais à (ré)ouvrir la réflexion sur la fonction de ces documentations et leur rôle dans des stratégies de politique coloniale, plus qu'à favoriser leur censure. Car pour comprendre les désastres du passé à éviter pour nos futurs, il faut étendre vers des « poly-récits » où l'autorité de l'archive est confrontée et mise à mal.

 

        Les fondements des sciences historiques reposent sur le principe de l'état actuel des connaissances. Les archives, qu’elles soient textuelles ou visuelles, ont souvent été un gage d'une vérité dominé par des pouvoirs en place, gommant bien souvent la valeur de la transmission des traditions orales. Les récits se sont appuyés pendant longtemps sur les archives textuelles. Puis, la photographie et l'image en mouvement sont devenues elles aussi de précieux supports de documentation dès la fin du XIXe siècle, agrémentant ces mêmes récits. Leurs usages ont permis de créer de nouveaux liens visuels entre passé, présent et futur. L'image et la vidéo ont rapidement été considérées comme postulat d'une réalité immuable. Ces médiums ont notamment joué un rôle ambigu dans une perception subjective des frontières et des territoires par le biais des illustrations de conquêtes, d'exploits et de prouesses de l'homme occidental. Heureusement, depuis quelques années, le patrimoine culturel immatériel(1) a été reconnu en tant qu’élément essentiel participant aux révisions de l'Histoire. L'accessibilité de ce patrimoine a permis de nous repositionner sur la signification des archives, d'élargir nos interprétations de celles-ci et de les remettre en question.

 

        Par leur approche respective, Laurence Butet-Roch et Jessica Houston proposent de déplacer les points de vue et d'ouvrir les perspectives vers de nouveaux récits de territoires, en mettant à profit l’archive comme levier de réflexion.

 

        L’installation de Laurence Butet-Roch intitulée Nos grand-pères étaient des chefs offre un dialogue entre une photographie documentaire contemporaine et des documents d'archives révélant l'expansion de la Chemical Valley en Ontario. Les complexes pétrochimiques implantés sur des territoires Anishinaabek depuis plus d'un demi-siècle ont contraint la communauté d'Aamjiwnaang à en subir les conséquences néfastes sur leur santé et sur leur paysage. À cet effet, une carte topographique du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien de la Sarnia Indian déployée en grand format, situe la Reserve No. 45 – appelée consécutivement the Upper St. Clair reserve, puis la réserve de Sarnia, avant de reprendre son nom d'origine, Aamjiwnaang (2). Trois fils de couleurs distinctes y délimitent les superficies attribuées : celle de la réserve établie selon le Traité 29 (1827), sa surface actuelle et l’espace occupé par les usines pétrochimiques. Depuis 1790, une succession de traités(3) a progressivement gommé l'étendue du territoire d'Aamjiwnaang – qui signifie «au cours d'eau frai» – réduisant de surcroît ses accès aux berges de la rivière Sainte-Clair.

 

        Depuis près d'une dizaine d'année, Laurence Butet-Roch collabore avec les résident.es d'Aamjiwnaang et son Conseil. En mettant en regard les archives institutionnelles, véritables outils de communication et de promotion – à l'instar du billet canadien de 10 $ à l'effigie de la Polymer Corporation – avec les photographies qu'elle a réalisées, l'artiste nous encourage à examiner de manière critique, l'archive comme objet de domination étatique. Contraints, dans un premier temps, de reconnaitre la responsabilité du Canada et les conséquences de ses politiques coloniales, elle nous invite à regarder également l'histoire de la communauté qui se déroule ici et maintenant. Celle d'une résistance quotidienne qui continue d'habiter l'espace et de protéger activement sa faune et sa flore.

Laurence Butet-Roch a notamment convié la jeune génération à s’exprimer librement sur deux de ses images. Les participants ont ainsi traduit par des dessins colorés extraits de leur imaginaire et de leurs croyances, leur relation aux éléments et leur perspective du futur.

 

        Le travail de Jessica Houston s'inscrit quant à lui dans le narratif de nouvelles représentations des pôles, en regard de l’histoire jusqu’alors influencée par les rapports des conquérants et des explorateurs masculins et blancs. S'intéressant à la déconstruction de cette posture dominante, l'artiste s'amuse des symboliques impérialistes engagées dans les expéditions successives et renouvelle les théories. Elle en profite pour reconfigurer le lien entre l'humain et la nature dans une conjoncture de l'imaginaire. Issues de différents projets, les œuvres montrées révèlent la recherche menée par Jessica Houston depuis plusieurs années autour de la définition ambivalente des notions de pôle Nord et de pôle Sud.

 

        Dans ses collages se jouant des proportions, l’artiste utilise les archives du célèbre  National géographic magazine, créé en 1888 aux États-Unis, pour suggérer de nouvelles propositions discursives. Durant plusieurs décennies, les producteurs d'images publiées dans la revue sont en grande majorité blancs et masculins, participant d’une tradition de récits visuels partiaux. Jessica Houston décide de venir rompre ceux-ci par des stratégies géométriques – découpage, aplat de couleur, pliage, montage – fracturant l'image dans le but d'offrir une polysémie des discours sur les régions circumpolaires par l'entremise de la technique du composite. Les histoires de pôle s'y confondent, et les figures des explorateurs Robert Peary ou Roald Amundsen s'effacent derrière les assemblages fictionnels de l'artiste, davantage inspirée par la nouvelle écoféministe «Sur» d'Ursula K. Le Guin(4), qui relate l’atteinte du pôle Sud en décembre 1909 par neuf exploratrices originaires d’Amérique du Sud. Jessica Houston transforme ainsi les épopées de conquêtes polaires en un conte alternatif cassant les codes de l'image documentaire glorifiante pour former un héritage inédit des mythes.

 

        L'œuvre Too Enlightened reprend la technique composite des collages par une mosaïque incitant notre œil à remettre en ordre les images morcelées pour en extraire une lecture cohérente. Force est de constater que les propositions sont infinies. En réponse à cette œuvre, la vidéo Enlightened replace au centre de l'attention le paysage et le temps profond de la glace dans l'Antarctique en juxtaposant des images d'archives d'expéditions militaires avec un point de vue aérien filmé par un drone. Ce diptyque contemplatif de plus de dix-huit minutes ne se joue plus de notre sens de l’observation et invite à rendre compte de la résilience et de la résistance de la nature, contrastant inévitablement avec ce temps dont nous ne disposons plus devant le réchauffement climatique.

 

Davantage qu’une fin de l’histoire, c’est une certaine conception moderne de l’histoire qui s’efface, celle de la capacité de l’Homme occidental à gouverner et à prétendre expliquer le monde.(5)

 

        Les œuvres présentées dans Histoire(s) de territoire(s) nous convient ainsi à «décentrer notre regard»(6) tout en notant l'impact sociétal de la documentation visuelle dans la mémoire collective. Les mécanismes narratifs dominants perpétués sur des territoires convoités mettent ici en lumière les conséquences non visibles qui en découlent. L'utilisation des archives interroge le processus de réactualisation et ouvre les champs des (ré)écritures possibles et nécessaires pour rafraîchir certains récits, donnant la parole à qui de droit et laissant place aux imaginaires collectifs.

Sophie Bertrand

1 - https://ich.unesco.org/fr/qu-est-ce-que-le-patrimoine-culturel-immateriel-00003

2 - David D. Plain, https://www.aamjiwnaang.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Aamjiwnaang-Website-Detail-Modern-History.pdf

3 - ibid.

4 - Le Guin, U.K. (1982), Sur. Publié le 24 janvier 1982, New Yorker. En ligne. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1982/02/01/sur

5 - Sallée, F. (2019). La mécanique de l’histoire (p.42). Le Cavalier Bleu. https://doi.org/10.3917/lcb.salle.2019.01

6 - Sallée, 2019, ibid., p. 17

LBR_by Cole Breiland_edited.jpg
© Cole Breiland
Laurence Butet-Roch
LAURENCE BUTET-ROCH est une auteure, photographe et chercheuse en arts visuels dont les travaux portent sur les questions de justice environnementale. Récipiendaire du prix Joseph Armand-Bombardier (CRSH), elle poursuit un doctorat en études environnementales à l’Université York (Toronto). Ses recherches examinent les clichés utilisés par les médias Canadiens dans leurs reportages sur la pollution industrielle à l’aide de méthodes d’analyse participatives et collaboratives.
Jessica Houston
Les projets multimédias de Jessica Houston confrontent la justice environnementale dans les régions polaires, en mettant particulièrement l'accent sur le temps profond de la glace et la collaboration avec la nature. Ses œuvres ont été exposées notamment au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, au CREA Gallery (Venice, Italy), au The Arktikum Museum (Rovaniemi, Finlande), au Museo de Arts de Querétaro (México) et au Latimer House Museum (New York), et comptent parmi plusieurs collections institutionnelles et muséales.
Jessica Houston dy Bruno Tremblay.jpg
© Bruno Tremblay
Profil SB_edited.jpg
Sophie Bertrand
SOPHIE BERTRAND est photographe, auteure et commissaire indépendante. Ses intérêts portent tant sur la photographie contemporaine que le patrimoine photographique. Dans sa pratique comme dans les projets qu'elle mène, elle s'intéresse à la formation de nouveaux récits visuels par la mise en dialogue des archives et de l'image. Collaboratrice régulière du magazine Ciel Variable, elle a également participé au livre L’Histoire mondiale des femmes photographes (éd.Textuel, Paris, 2020). Détentrice d’une maîtrise en muséologie, elle est également chargée de cours au Collège de photographie Marsan et occupe le poste d'adjointe à la codirection chez Vie des arts.
© Joannie Lafrenière
Partenaires
Histoire(s) de territoire(s) s’inscrit sous la thématique générale Territoire / Frontières de la biennale POST-INVISIBLES 2024.
Noir et Blanc Splashscreen-Horizontal.jpg
La SBC est heureux d'accueillir le lancement du nouveau numéro de Vie des arts..
LG_Vie_des_Arts_Bande_vf.png
bottom of page